Join our self-reliant homestead and small farm! For simple, joyous, frugal living. Welcome to Violet Town in Australia




Bisher 97 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Our place is a self-reliant homestead and small farm on the edge of Violet Town, just 800m from the train station. The property is well established, as most tree planting was done between 1996 and 2000, and is a living, working example of permaculture design. We have been hosting woofers, helpers and interns since 1999, and are new to Workaway.

    We have a large established fruit and nut orchard, an olive grove, vegetable gardens, chickens, milking goats, bees, forestry for shelter and timber, and large dam for irrigation and swimming. Our house is made of timber and mudbrick, and we catch our own water. Most of our food comes from the house garden and farm, including a huge range of fresh fruit all year round, a range of vegetables for each season, honey, cheese, olive oil, table olives, and home killed or hunted meat. Although we do have meat, most meals are vegetarian, just to keep up with the garden produce!

    Staying here can be like being in a big share house, with shared meals and conversation at the table, except that this share house supports itself with its own agriculture, animals, and forestry.

    If you like to balance social time with some quiet time, there are plenty of quiet spots available for your free time, and some quiet solo tasks if you prefer that sometimes.

    Travel to here is easy: 2hrs from Melbourne by train directly to Violet Town station or via Benalla if coming by train from Sydney. Minimum stay 2 weeks, longer can be better. Longer stays by arrangement after the first week.

    Please make initial contact by email. In your application, or on your profile, please ensure that you outline your work experience, what study you have done, your skills, passions and interests, why you are interested to come here, and include at least one photo of you. We do like to see your smiling face. References or positive reviews can be helpful if you have them.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Staying with us is an opportunity to contribute your great positive attitude to the very positive version of the future that we have developed here. You can experience what low budget, self reliant regenerative living and applied work can lead to after 20 years. It is a chance to experience permaculture living and discuss contemporary permaculture thinking. And it is a time to live within and eat from a regenerating human managed ecosystem, based on tree crop agriculture.

    One previous visitor (Gabriel, who happened to be a university post-graduate) described our farm as "an outdoor university and a perfect getaway from our consumer society."

    Wifi and small library of self-reliance/permaculture books available. David teaches and consults in permaculture, and our permaculture design course is based here.

  • Arbeit


    Helping here suits people who enjoy being active and productive doing well organised tasks, and are seriously interested in self-reliant sustainable living and organics.

    Type of tasks: 'garden farming' help, combined with learning, and share of household tasks, including food preparation from garden/ farm ingredients. Depending on your skills and interests and our needs, tasks can include caring for our vegetable gardens, orchard, goats and chickens, cheese making and other food processing (tapenade, preserves, etc.), fruit picking and grading, bee keeping and honey extraction, forestry, and sometimes building and building maintenance.

    We ask for 5 hrs of help per day, on weekdays, plus share of household tasks.

    Weekends are mostly free time. Weekends can be completely free if you decide to go away somewhere. If you are here, then weekends are free time other than sharing basic animal and household tasks (just as you would need to do on a weekend at your own home).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Swedish, some French

  • Unterkunft


    Now, in autumn/ winter, we have 2 indoor bedrooms available, and also the option of a glamping tent in sunny positions.
    Summer sleeping space accommodation is 'glamping' (glamorous camping) in large furnished tents big enough to stand up in, under shady trees, with electricity connected.

    The main room of the house is a shared space during the day.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is walking or bike riding in the nearby hills, some nice swimming places, and access by train to larger towns or to Melbourne on weekends.

    This place is for people who share our commitment to simple, joyous, frugal living. This is not the place for using an electric hair dryer, synthetic chemical body care products, or for industrial junk food. We have good food here, and the whole point of this place is to live lightly, by living from our own surrounds.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours /day, 5 days/ week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 332236581236