Ecological Guest House in Paraty, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Country

Brasilien

Bisher 525 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    33  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 11 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I'm from Oregon, USA. I've been living in Brazil for over 20 years. I am vegetarian and love Brazilian culture and music. I play in a some music groups occasionally and love to study popular music culture. I have a degree in organic agriculture and am passionate about alternative Food and Education. I have a start-up project on my property. The main activity is temporary rental (bed and breakfast with an ecological slant), but we also have some sporadic workshops, environmental education for all those that come through our space (learning by doing). We are usually building something or trying to make the place nicer (maintenance, implementing permaculture techniques etc.). I work with an assistant Noah, who will be the person responsible for all work exchange activities, however I am usually around here and then and enjoy having a meal and getting to know the volunteers.

    There are two houses so far on the property, and one in progress. I live on site but travel often. Noah lives near by and is around daily. We have between 1-3 work exchangers nearly all the time. Noah helps me organize the work and works with the workawayers. I couldn't do it all without you! I rent two houses to people visiting Paraty on vacation, however I am not a hostel. Our occupancy rate is low, except in certain seasons, and therefore I do not have a reception desk. Mostly we need help cleaning and preparing the rooms and houses, and with yard work. When that is done we have a long list of maintenance and embetterment projects!

    I have a large yard with fruit trees and an organic garden on site which always needs help. My houses were built with some ecological principals (solar power, recycled wood, ecological sewage system). Around March 2020 we should be done with the rain water system and hopefull by April the green roof. I provide a little annex type apartment off the back of one of the houses. It is one room with small kitchen and bathroom. It is simple but nice, and has everything you need. You may need to share with other workawayers. We are close to local attractions, and very centrally located in one of the best neighborhoods in the city (quiet, safe and convenient).

    We are always in need of people skilled in building, wood working, electric, roofing, and permaculture, and sewing. The jobs are more suited to people that can withstand physical labor outside in the heat and rain, but I can often use the creative type to paint a wall, invent a lamp shade or things of that type. I also greatly value those that LOVE to clean and organize and have a knack for details. If you don't have any specific skills , that is ok, but you should come ready to work and be independent, ask a lot of questions, and generally manage your own time with responsibility. I ask for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. Time schedules are adjustable but in general if you are here more for a free place to stay while you tour the city, this is not the place for you..If you are interested in helping out, working hard, and getting involved, you will be more than welcome and will get a lot out of your time with us.

    I am often busy managing the various projects, and I also travel often. My associate Noah, does not live on the property but will be around as your guide to the work to be done. We encourage interruptions for questions, so that the work is done right the first time and resources are not wasted.

    If you have questions, please ask. Please tell me not only about yourself, but about what skills you have to offer and what you like to do. I am not a teaching center. This is a place for someone who wants a nice relaxing space, is independent and works hard. You will learn more if you ask more !

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you are interested in permaculture, gardening and home repair, as well as how to live more sustainably. You will learn about that as you work if you ask lots of questions! If you would like to get involved in other projects, just let me know what you are looking for.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have a garden on site at my home which needs much help as well as a large yard that grows like crazy (mowing, green fence trimming, fruit and other tree trimming), a compost pile and worm bin and many plans for improving the garden and yard and bringing more permaculture to my home. I also need help preparing rooms, cleaning, and general maintenance. Often I'll ask for help with my daily life (sewing ripped clothes or curtain, shopping etc).

    These are some of the tasks I need
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Yard and garden maintenance - mowing, pruning, weeding, planting, building plant structures, raking
    *️️️️️️️️️️Sanding and staining.The houses are wood, there is a lot of this to be done.
    *️️️️️️️️️️Construct a covered area for bikes
    *make an adobe pizza oven and covered barbecue area
    *️️️️️️️️️️Irrigation of garden
    *️️️️️️️️️️Bike maintenance
    *️️️️️️️️️️For Native English or Portuguese speakers - site upgrade improvements (review of text)
    *️️️️️️️️️️Advertising tips and photography for communication specialists (website management) for Temp rental project
    *️️️️️️️️️️People with attention to detail for thorough cleaning of dust and painting, general house cleaning.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Electricians for putting more lights in the yard
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Wood workers for building things (side tables)
    *️️️️️️️️️️ General maintenance - hang things, drill, sand , paint etc.
    * creative types to use pieces of wood and blocks for something lovely!

    Look forward to hearing from you!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Portuguese: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I provide a room with mosquito net and fan, equipped kitchen, bathroom. You may need to share with other work exchangers. We also provide basics (rice, beans, oil, salt, coffee), but the rest of your food is up to you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is much to do around Paraty. It is a region full of beautiful waterfalls and beaches. There are wonderful restaurants and shops, and a quaint historic city. My house is 25 min by foot from the historic center and I also provide a bike for your use when guests are not renting them. There are buses to many beaches and boats to others. The city offers many festivals throughout the year (music, film, cultural, dance). For those interested in Brazilian music there is also a maracatu group and tambor de crioulo.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good internet for the region. However there will still be times it is out, or when it fluctuates a bit, especially during storm season. The volunteer shared room is small and not ideal for working, however it is possible to put a desk in the room. When we are not full the other houses can be used for working. There may be times when you have limited private space.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have street parking (free) or a small space in the yard

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day: 5 days on, two days off

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)


























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 327729629824