Enjoy a cultural exchange in Guatemala and help with online marketing for guesthouse and artist



Bisher 63 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    I have a property in Jaibalito; a tiny village at the north shore of the Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. There are 6 guest rooms that are bookable online at this point. The house and rooms are at a high standard for Guatemala, where guests enjoy good bedding and a great place to relax. I don't offer any additional services at this point, but I'd like to develop that. I am also a Mosaic artist and teacher in Guatemala and in California. I am a very tidy and neat person with an eye for color and design and so is my caretaker. I have two highly energetic dogs who need a play - hiking mate. Not everyone will fit in at my house and that's OK. We can talk and find out what realistic expectations are from both sides. I have a house manual for guests that I can email once we reach an agreement and I'd need you to adhere to the same rules.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    While staying with me, you would have access to anything that can be harvested from the garden. I grow a lot of vegetables, herbs and fruit. My property is about 80 percent edible or medicinal. If anyone can offer suggestions to make the garden more productive, that would be awesome. My ultimate goal is to to create a job for one person in our village, by having them tend to the garden and sell the produce at markets, restaurants and hotels around the lake. Then I hope the design and productivity factor of my garden will catch on and it may become a trend for other home owners to continue the process. This is an other project I can definitely use help with. But it's not a must. You would work closely with my caretaker (guardian). He is kind and smart and would be your link to the other villagers. He is aware of art, educational and reading projects going on in the area. He's also a bee keeper and an artist. Without knowledge of Spanish you would limit yourself as far as a cultural exchange goes.

  • Arbeit


    I may need a little bit of help checking in guests, but that is easy, since there is a Spanish speaking caretaker on property and I have other people who can help me with check-ins in my absence. In order to get my caretaker more comfortable with guests, it would be great if someone could help him with his English. It would be an even exchange, since he can help you with your Spanish should you want to improve. I have books at the house that can work both ways to improve language skills.
    My two dogs serve as mountain guides for guests and workawayers alike and they'd love to take you on a walk when you have time off.
    At this point I mainly need help with online marketing and web design: to develop my website and to create an online presence on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for my vacation property and for my mosaic work. At some point, I'd like to develop a booking system that will allow travelers to book any service in the Lake Atitlan area with minimal fees. But I realize that is a tall order. Initially I need help in researching which existing booking engines would work for that purpose, taking into account we would need the possibility to pay out local partners who may not have bank accounts or even ID's. This endeavor would also raise some tax issues between the US and Guatemala. Again: that is a long term project. And it would take someone with just those talents to help me with this.
    So for now we'll focus on the marketing and website work. You do not need Spanish to help the guests or for the online work, but in order to serve as a link between my caretakers or tradesmen and my guests, you'd need to get by in Spanish. I have no problems with you grouping the work hours to accommodate possible travel plans, but I do need you to be fully active and productive for those 25 hours.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You'd normally stay in a single room and have access to all the areas my guests have access to, including a guest kitchen and shared bathroom. There is a small desk, a single bed and a closet that can be locked. One wall is mostly window and door; mainly made up of screen and curtains, so it's breezy and cool at night, while still offering privacy. You have storage under the bed and a ton of books to read. If guest reservations require it, you may need to move during your stay to one of the other rooms on the property. There is another room I may offer upstairs, which has two single beds, a large armoir and a window out to the front balcony where you can enjoy sunrises. Since that room has not desk, you could work in the mosaic room if you need an office space that's more private than the general guest area. I do prefer to keep the downstairs of the house private and for that reason workawayers won't be able to use my private kitchen. Sharing the guest kitchen and bathroom also means that you need to do your part to keep it clean. There is no need to clean up after others, but if there are issues with other guests not doing their part, I'd need to be notified. We recycle and compost, so we try to keep trash to a minimum. We have a private trash recycling project in the village, so it's a delicate subject, especially living on an amazing lake that we are trying to preserve. At this point I'd like to offer less hours for accommodations without meals. Say 3 hours a day, 5 days a week? I can also arrange a meal plan at a local posada for 2 meals a day or a credit at a local store. That would then be for 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Jaibalito is located at the Lake Atitlan and the only access to the village is by boat from the surrounding villages. We are 4-5 hours away from Guatemala City and 3 hours from Antigua. There are hiking trails going out of the village in three directions and my dogs know them all. There is a Posada (Inn) where locals and visitors meet for drinks or a meal. They also sell excellent coffee, groceries (anything but meat) and fresh bread. You can visit the whole lake from Jaibalito. I don't mind when people smoke outside, as long as it does not bother the guests, but I am not 420 friendly and alcohol should be handled responsibly. You would need to leave your room in an acceptable condition when you leave, since it is one of the guest rooms. If I am not home, you will need to assume the responsibility for the safety of the property. The dogs do their part and my caretaker knows his job. I mean that you can't be partying at the local cantina and become a target for burglars while carrying the keys to the house. I also do not want any guests to come for more than a short morning or afternoon visit.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 325398551813