Help me with my permaculture project and enjoy beautiful New Orleans, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 32 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    95.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Laurence. I am a French citizen living in the US for a long time and New Orleans for the past ten years. I am an educator, librarian and social worker and I love to dance, sing and garden.
    I have chosen to live in the Lower Ninth because it is a beautiful and quiet part of town but mostly because it was the area in the most need of help after hurricane Katrina. I started a literacy program to supply free books to neighborhood children.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers will be staying in a historical section of beautiful New Orleans. The house on the bank of the Mississippi. Host is heavily involved in local culture and music scene and will be happy to share that knowledge. Travellers can also enjoy JazzFest, Mardis Gras and other festivities unique to New Orleans during their stay.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Traveller will be helping with a long term permaculture gardening project, building rabbit hutches and chicken coops. Helping me with water management around the yard (barrels etc) and some light household maintenance. Possibly some assistance with literacy work for children as well.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, Spanish, a bit of German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Traveller will have their own (very pretty) bedroom. Semi private (my house is a shotgun and you can close your door, but I might have to go through if the weather is too much for me to use the side door). Travellers may use all kitchen equipment but will be on their own for food (unless specifically invited to share for a special occasion).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    New Orleans is a city where you cannot get bored. There is always something going on and I will be happy to guide you as to what is happening. My house is in the historic Lower Ninth Ward, a 10 minute car ride (or 20 minutes bike ride) from the French Quarter. There is also a decently working public transportation system. There is a festival, a parade, second line or great live music every day of the week.
    I work during the day, but I love going out nights and weekends and am happy to have people come along if they wish to do so. There are numerous pets in the backyard and one large pussy cat in the house itself, so probably not a good fit if you are allergic to or afraid of animals. Travellers will be expected to be courteous and clean after themselves upon using common areas such as kitchen and bathroom. No smoking inside. I also enjoy spending a good part of my weekends working on my garden which is where I would be needing the most assistance.
    I speak French, English and Spanish fluently and might be able to dredge back remnants of German if needed.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 325361625821