Help us become as self-sufficient as possible and with daily life in Roccantica, Province of Rieti, Italy

  • Bisher 63 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 9 Mai 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi everyone!!

    We are Patrick and Elena, after a few years spent exploring the world either with our van, as seasonal workers or as workawayers,decided to settle down in the beautiful Italian countryside where we found the perfect place for our life project.
    We now own a 4-hectar plot of land with loads of olive trees and some fruit trees . We are not far from Rome, where Elena still works (or better,used to work before our baby girl Ilde was born), but our house is surrounded by beautiful woods which are peaceful and energetic. Our house is quite tucked away but not too isolated as we have several nice neighbours and the lovely village of Roccantica that is just above us.

    Our goal is to be as self-sufficient as possible, leading a simpler life in harmony with nature, and re-discovering a real sense of community among people.
    Getting inspired from the encounters with people from other cultures, now that we have “settled down”, we would like to bring the world to us, hosting volunteers from all around the world and finally being on the other side as hosts to share and get help on our project, and share our knowledge and experiences.

    We have always been determined and worked hard to reach our goals in life, and in order to do that we have a well-balanced life style. We try to keep a sort of discipline, eating as healthy as possible, buying local fresh products, trying not to drink too much and exercise, but of course have a party every once in while, as we consider it a pleasure for the soul as well.

    *** IF YOU ARE LAZY, BY NATURE OR DUE TO YOUR AB-USE OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS, OR EXPECT TO COME HERE JUST TO A HAVE A HOLIDAY, THIS IS PROBABLY NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU***

    We don’t expect you to be a professional on anything, but just that you have some interest on our project and willing to work to learn new staff. Passion is what we are looking for, so bring that with you and with the help of an open and clear communication we are sure we will have the most amazing time together.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We both come and originate from different parts of Italy, so by staying with us you may discover many things about cultural differences within the country.
    Our place is in the heart of the region called Sabina, a flourishing green and mountainous area not far from Rome which is particularly rich in history, legends and full of scenic Medieval towns which are (luckily) somehow resisting to the passing of time and are still kept active by its inhabitants.
    All around us is a network of hiking trails that can be used to explore the magnificent and relaxing woods that surround the village of Roccantica and face our very home. Roccantica sits on the steep slopes of the mountain and it overlooks our property, keeping us company both day and night with its sounds and lights.
    Roccantica also offers interesting folkloristic events, such as the traditional "Medioevo in festa", a wonderful and engaging re-enactment of the most significant events linked to its history. In general, this beautiful revocation takes place during the month of August, an opportunity to dive into a different dimension, surrounded by people wearing beautiful historical costumes, eat excellent local food and wine and visit the many artisan shops.
    The Sabina it's pretty famous as well for the production of olive oil, and as we have many olive trees, you may experience the picking/production of oil season around October/November

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    In general, Workawayers would be asked to help us with whatever we are busy with, either in the garden/property or in the house. Tasks generally include:
    -Cleaning
    -Cooking
    -Gardening: pruning trees, cutting grass, getting rid of weeds, cutting and storing wood, picking fruits, depending on the season, but nothing too difficult.
    -Painting and other light house maintenance jobs.
    -Babysitting- not by default, only if needed.

    On top of the basic stuff, there is plenty to be done, so there is also room for people with prior experience with carpentry, masonry and electricity work. New ideas and side projects are always welcome if in line with our final goal! :)

    All people with previous experience with manual work, or willing to get their hands dirty and learn are very welcome, as are all skills we may have not listed but that may fit our project.

    ***We are always ready to help but you should be as independent as possible in carrying out your tasks***

    5 HOURS OF WORK A DAY, FIVE DAYS A WEEK.

    Working hours may change depending on the season. On some days you may need to work longer, in which case you will work less on other days, we are flexible to adapt the schedule whenever possible.

    Please note that helping KEEPING EVERYTHING CLEAN and tidy is considered as a basic REQUIREMENT which is not to be counted as part of the working hours. We believe that helping out and participating to the house chores are part of any co-living experience.
    Respect is always required, both with the objects in the house and the working tools.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer a room with ensuite bathroom. You may be asked to share it with other volunteers.

    We expect volunteers to keep this clean and tidy, we are not obsessive about it but we believe that a little constant cleaning is much better than "spring cleaning" every 10 days :)
    Volunteers should leave their room as clean as they found it.

    We like to spend time with people and we enjoy sharing dinners and aperitivo from time to time, but we also find personal space important, so on working days we will most probably eat lunch together but for dinners, breakfasts and days off, we will provide you with everything you need to be self-sufficient and cook for yourself.

    We have a well-balanced diet (we don't eat pasta every day!) and we eat everything, including, although only rarely, meat. We respect and would accommodate as much as possible all dietary preferences. What we personally try to do is to shop locally from producers and to make whatever we can by ourselves.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our house is situated in almost 4 hectar of land just below a very nice and interesting village, (Roccantica) that you can reach through a trail in about 10 min.
    Other villages and the town of Poggio Mirteto are not in walking distance but can be reached by bus; we often drive there ourselves so when possible we could give you a lift.
    A bus can also get you to the train station with direct trains to Rome city centre and Fiumicino airport.

    In Roccantica you can find a bar where to spend time and enjoy the view. We also volunteer for a local association that is very active in the area, hosting long-term volunteers, organizing several youth activities and managing a hostel and two mountain lodges where events and get-togethers are often organized.

    If you are into outdoor activities you can find plenty of options here: there are many hiking trails, a climbing spot not far away, and even natural pools if you are willing to walk. We have maps and whenever possible we would be happy to help you making the most of your free time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Accessibility depends on the kind of vehicle you have. Please contact us if you are planning to come with your van.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 315776425819

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder

Feedback