Be with horses, hike and explore the Okanagan Shuswap Region of BC, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 280 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a 5 acre 6 horse, 3 dog hobby farm, located between Enderby and Salmon Arm in the North Okanagan Shuswap region of British Columbia. In 2014-2015 I hosted quite a lot but then a move and change in life stopped my ability to host. Now I am looking forward to hosting again. My partner Mikes works for the RCMP and I work for a local financial institution. Our two children are ages 11 and 14, so our helpers must like kids and sassy teenagers. We are a very active family with a small property, large home and plenty of work always needing to be done. I ride our horses competitively in barrel racing and our daughter also rides too. We love our home, our location and our lifestyle and would love to share our experiences with someone else.

    We are looking for someone who is independent, self sufficient and doesn’t mind being alone. As a helper, most days you’d be on your own from 7:30-4:00. There is no public transit from our home to larger centres, but as your hosts we can help you explore the area.

    We have are unable to accommodate helpers who have their own RV or trailers.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We really enjoy the cultural exchange the occurs while hosting. Not only is it rewarding to host and teach our guests about our way of life, it is just as rewarding for us to learn about different ways of living. We can share what we know about Canadian education, law, politics, food, religions & pretty much any else that interests you.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our helpers need to be independent and able be on their own for the majority of the day as both my partner and I work during the day. Confidence to take on tasks and learn new way is important.


    Winter work varied depending on weather. Lots of indoor projects, yet still a lot of work outside with the horses with cleaning pens and shelters and daily feeding and care. Come spring & summer, mostly outdoor work as gardening, lawn care & plant care. I have a few painting projects as well. Cleaning the horse paddocks and shelters. Getting fire wood. Feeding the horses. Riding arena care like grooming it and rock picking. , Moving and stacking hay, watering, caring for horses, their tack and equipment. Organizing the shop and tools. Other duties include housekeeping duties with multiple tasks and a variety of work. House cleaning, baking cookies, cooking meals or meal prep & general light duty maintenance. I serve good food and we try our best to make our home warm and inviting. Our kids are both in French immersion school, so any bit of French is always great too!

    **if you're a great rider we would let your ride our horses**

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am always interested in learning little bits of other languages and we would be willing to help you learn English. Only our children are fluent in French. Mike and I only know very few words.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a large log home. It is approximately 3600 sq. You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed, a large closet and views of the mountain. There is a large outside deck and a hot tub for your enjoyment.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Visit SilverStar Mountain Resort
    Cross country ski at Larch Hills Cross Country
    Hike the Enderby Cliffs
    Enjoy the shores of Shuswap Lake
    Visit Margaret Falls
    Go ice fishing on Gardom Lake
    Check out Shuswap Trail Alliance (hiking and mountain biking trail maps)
    Visit wineries
    Enjoy the many lakes
    Float the Shuswap River
    Shop at a local farmers market

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have fibre optic high speed internet so you’re welcome to work on your own projects on your own time.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have room to park your campervan.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 315527933474