Mithilfe bei Haus-, Garten und Handwerksarbeiten in einer abgeschiedenen Gegend eines Nationalparks in Italien



Bisher 2666 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    75.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 30 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Looking for enthusiastic volunteers to help with loads of general tasks such as house renovation and building projects, major house spring clean, vegetable gardening, grass cutting, collecting firewood, road repairs, digging out ditches, clearing brambles etc. All good fun! Please get in touch!


    We are a young family (Sophie 26, George 32, Caio 3 and baby India 1 ) passionate about living an off-the-grid lifestyle, building things, baking bread and having a nice garden. We enjoy the peace and slow pace of living in this environment close to nature and the commitment to the work involved in restoring and maintaining the beautiful off-grid farmhouses that we live in.

    Outside of the work we enjoy playing with our kids, walking around the forest, drinking some nice wine over dinner, going to the river, cooking food and baking sourdough bread.

    Using workaway has been life changing for us in many ways. The project is what it is today because of all the helping hands and great people we've hosted over the years. Not only because of the volunteers contributions through the work but also for all the good times and exchanges we've had - it's provided motivation and has kept the project alive and fresh. We met each other through workaway too so that's obviously been completely life changing! Also, we've both been volunteers ourselves in the past so we try to apply these experiences to make an easygoing communal environment for all of us to enjoy.

    The project...

    Our project focuses on maintaining and renovating two farmhouses. We live in one while the other is primarily set up for guests. It's an ideal playground for the DIY enthusiast and for anyone wanting to practice more building/DIY skills. Any help related to house renovation needs doing here. We are committed to keeping the project off-the-grid so we're keen on anything to do with alternative technology and self-sufficiency. We have solar power for electrics and a hand-powered washing machine. We try to find as much time as we can to grow our own vegetables and keep a nice a garden so help is always needed here because it is a never ending task.
    In the summer we host yoga retreats and capoeira workshops. During this time we focus on accommodating the guests so cooking, cleaning etc are the main priorities. However, depending on how many hands we have on board to help, we try to keep the construction projects going as well. The almost 3km road to the house is very bad so sometimes we might work on the road cleaning the ditches and filling holes etc. The road is only suitable for 4x4 vehicles, we have a 30 year old ex-military landrover defender which is our lifeline to the outside world!

    About the place and your stay...

    This is in an incredible part of Tuscany which is considered the 'Hidden Tuscany'. In contrast to the rolling hills, vine yards and the olive groves of classic Tuscany, here it is much wilder and mountainous and we are surrounded by lush forests.
    The house is literally in the middle of the woods inside a national park in the east of Tuscany. It is perched on the mountain side of a small valley and reached by an old stone road only accessible on foot or 4x4 vehicle. The house is fully off grid. Our electricity comes from solar and water is sourced from a natural spring. Hot water is supplied from a wood burning stove. It is an exceptionally peaceful place of untouched natural beauty. We are without neighbours and there is no light pollution in the valley, perfect for stargazing and forest-walks. This is a very special place just to be and experience nature.

    We cook, eat and live together like a temporary community. We usually host at least two volunteers at a time. In the house there is also a little library and a collection of instruments, which you are more than welcome to use. We welcome single travellers or couples into our daily routine.

    SPRING 2020

    From March onwards we need your help setting up the house and garden after a long winter of hibernation.

    Projects at this time could be cleaning and decorating, building and repairing furniture, general DIY, painting things, chopping and collecting fire wood, general house renovation etc.
    The garden also needs lots of attention at this time. Digging, weeding and preparing the garden beds are top priorities!
    As a volunteer it is a really beautiful time for you to see the valley and watch it spring to life. It is also quite an intimate time at the house; colder weather means cozy evening fires in the kitchen, sharing stories, good food and good company.

    SUMMER 2020

    In the summer time, we open our home completely by hosting groups and guests. It is an amazingly exciting and sociable time, and you will find yourself meeting many people and constantly learning. Our main role as a working group is cooking for guests and keeping on top of house work and washing. We are looking for volunteers who are confident, assertive and creative in the kitchen, who are confident to work as part of a team and independently at times.

    AUTUMN 2020

    At this time the focus will be on renovation projects so we are looking for volunteers with good DIY skills for this time. Projects will include everything related to general construction - roof work, plastering, carpentry, decorating, plumbing, electrics, the list is endless...

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Although we are in Italy we're very isolated so it's not the best place for volunteers to come expecting a Italian cultural exchange. We are English. George speaks Italian and is trying to teach Sophie (but he's not doing such a great job at the moment!) so there could be the chance for volunteers to join in these 'lessons'... even better, wiling to teach!
    We offer the opportunity to learn many life skills from cooking and baking bread to gardening and fixing the roof.
    We live off-the-grid and practice organic gardening, self-sufficiency and alternative technology. So our cultural exchange would be an exchange of lifestyle and knowledge rather than an Italian cultural exchange ...although we'd be more than willing to teach you about drinking tea and baked beans!

  • Arbeit


    We're looking for enthusiastic volunteers who are passionate about nature, independent, hardworking and enjoy being outside and getting stuck in!

    What you will do here greatly depends on what you're capable of doing. There's always new stuff to build and old stuff to fix and renovate and it's an ideal playground to the DIY enthusiast.
    Depending on your skills such tasks could be....

    Roof building project
    Painting and decorating
    Carpentry projects
    General manual labour
    General house renovation
    Building dry stone walls
    Making garden paths
    Fixing tools and machines
    Clearing brambles

    The garden and house need constant attention and improvement.

    From mid March until November we are looking for volunteers to help in and around the house with gardening and building/renovation projects and help with hosting guests in the summer months. Daily tasks are split equally between everyone, with mealtimes being a time for everyone to pitch in together.

    General daily tasks can include...

    Cooking (We mainly eat vegetarian but occasionally eat meat too)
    Tending to and watering our vegetable garden
    General cleaning and tiding
    Doing the laundry
    Collecting and chopping firewood

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Italian and some German

  • Unterkunft


    You will have a private or shared room in the house. Camping is not allowed because the national park laws forbid it.
    You will have access to whole house. There are two shared flushing toilets and one hot shower/bathroom inside. There are also compost toilets and cold showers outside.

    The house is off-grid with electricity provided by just a small solar panel system - not a problem in summer but it can mean we have limited electricity supply in the spring and autumn months. Our water, comes clean and natural from a nearby spring. There is internet, however it is not always connected, especially in the evenings when there is limited power because the sun has left and there's no more charge coming from the panels to charge the solar batteries. So usually the internet is on for a few hours during the day around lunch time.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Places to visit during your stay....

    La Verna - the medieval monastery of Saint Francis of Assisi. Perched high on a cliff face at the top of the mountain this sacred place is surrounded by some of the oldest and largest trees in the valley in a forest known as the 'foresta encantata' (enchanted forest). It is here where the Saint retreated in his cave and communed with the wildlife and nature and eventually received his stigmata. It is clear to understand why even to this day many pilgrims still visit this sacred wild place for prayer and meditation... or perhaps for some, just simply to enjoy the view!

    Next is the 'abandoned village' of San Silvestre. This once thriving village was deserted after the second world war and since then it has been left open to the destructive forces of nature and has slowly been eaten up by the wilderness. Here trees grow from the middle of the ruins and the only signs of life are the sheep loitering the old lanes and grazing the overgrowth. Although only abandoned this century, the village emanates a feeling of a 'lost civilisation'. Beautiful place for sunset!

    There are several waterfalls and rivers big enough for swimming in the valley. Indispensable on a hot day, these can be reached on foot and will no doubt be visited during your stay with us.


    Please be aware that we are isolated and hard to get to. The house is literally in the middle of the woods, it can only be reached by 4x4 vehicles and of course on foot. It is a place to immerse yourself into nature, explore forests and footpaths and to simply enjoy the peace. Fantastic for walkers. It is not a place to use as a base from where you can easily go on day trips to other tourist cities in Italy.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours a day maximum (max 25hrs/week)

Volunteers at work
Cutting firewood
The Kitchen
One of 6 bedrooms
The enchanted forest 40 mins walk away near the monastery or St.Francis

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.6)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 315467944d17