aktualisiert  

Help out with our soil regeneration garden on the wonderful island of Stromboli, Italy

  • Bisher 582 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 1 März 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Here in Stromboli buying fruit and vegetables is difficult, everything is very expensive and the quality is always poor. Cultivating a vegetable garden is therefore essential. Unfortunately this garden was a disaster, almost a landfill, the soil was devoid of organic matter and completely sterile. The land here on Stromboli is not fertile at all: it is sandy and acidic. It was therefore an undertaking to regenerate the land, build the raised gardens, add tons of organic matter, plant and mulch the fruit trees, create barriers with vetiver and carisse against the wind and salt, add tons and tons of compost to the land. After seven years, however, the result is visible; the trees grow well, the raised gardens are super productive but, above all, life is teeming: bees and bees buzz from flower to flower, woodlice, beetles and spiders have colonized the mulch piles, and then butterflies, lizards, rat snakes... but above all earthworms that work hard beneath the surface. Of course, it is not yet a balanced ecosystem, nor can it ever be; there is always the need to add organic matter, mulch, compost and above all water. It rains very little here and never in summer. So, even if the garden is not large there is always a lot of work to do
    =============
    Qui a Stromboli comprare frutta e verdura è difficile, tutto è carissimo e la qualità è sempre scadente. Coltivare un orto è quindi fondamentale. Purtroppo questo giardino era un disastro, quasi una discarica, il terreno era privo di materia organica e completamente sterile. La terra qui a Stromboli non è per niente fertile: è sabbiosa e acida. È stata una impresa quindi rigenerare il terreno, costruire gli orti rialzati, aggiungere tonnellate di materia organica, piantare e pacciamare gli alberi da frutto, realizzare barriere con vetiver e carisse contro il vento e la salsedine, aggiungere alla terra quintali e quintali di compost. Dopo sette anni però il risultato è visibile; gli alberi crescono bene, gli orti rialzati sono super produttivi ma, soprattutto, la vita pullula: osmie e api ronzano di fiore in fiore, onischi, coleotteri e ragni hanno colonizzato i cumuli di pacciamatura, e poi farfalle, lucertole, biacchi... ma soprattutto lombrichi che lavorano alacremente sotto la superficie. Certo, non è ancora un ecosistema in equilibrio, né potrà mai esserlo; c'è sempre da aggiungere materia organica, pacciamatura, compost e soprattutto acqua. Qui piove pochissimo e mai in estate. Quindi, anche se il giardino non è grande c'è sempre tanto lavoro da fare

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I live in a wonderful island. In addition to a splendid sea there is an always active volcano.

    My English is elementary, and I try to improve it by practicing.

    I really like having cultural exchanges with people from other countries and I have done it often

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Garden help: planting trees, gathering the harvest, work with soil, making compost.

    Gathering fruits and vegetables, help with making jams (in winter) General help in the house.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Englisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We offer a very small independent room with two beds, the use of a kayak, and a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea of Stromboli.
    The house is very small and spartan. It would need maintenance. Water arrives with ships and is a precious resource, it is necessary not to waste it

    We have meals together, mostly local cuisine.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Stromboli can be reached by hydrofoil from Milazzo every day. Twice a week even with a ship from Naples

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 294643382823

Feedback (17)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.9)



















Komm' und leb' mit einer italienischen Familie: hilf mit in unserem grossen Haus und lehre unserer Tochter Englisch, Milan, Italien
Become part of our family, help with the house, the teenagers and the dog in Imbersago, Italy