Explore a border town while helping me around the house and yard in the dreamy Sonoran Desert, USA

  • Bisher 25 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hola! Bienvenido/a! Come experience the winter sunshine and take in the wonders of the Sonoran Desert! Be sure to bring a camera. You will spot javelinas, deer, tarantulas, coyotes, ringtail cats, bobcats, scorpions, foxes, birds, and many other creatures here. My home is surrounded by peace and nature. It is sunny and cozy warm, but a breeze (or a gust!) will cool you down quickly. It cools at night, and you will need a jacket in winter. The sunrises can't be beat! If you are lucky, you'll catch a storm and probably see lightning in the distance and rainbows overhead. There is SO MUCH SKY here!

    I live in a peaceful, unique bordertown. At night, Mexico's twinkly lights will beckon. It is easy to cross over to Mexico for the day. Many people in town cross the border from Mexico daily for work or school. Most people here speak Spanish, and you will use Spanish in most stores. Go 30 minutes north and everyone speaks English first. Here you will feel like you are already in Mexico. The town was hit hard by the pandemic, and part of the town is quite old. The post office is 100 years old.

    There are organizations nearby for humanitarian work as well as for salvaging produce. It is a quiet area with a focus on family and outdoor activities. Hiking trails surround the area, and there are two small lakes nearby. Any big city activities or festivals can be found about an hour away, but all of the necessities are about 10 minutes away. The town often has parades and other activities. You can find the traditional saguaros a little north, and nearby Tucson is a UNESCO Creative City of Gastronomy.

    I speak Spanish and English and have lived in many other cities and countries. I understand if you are learning a new language, or if you are in a new state or country. You will have your own room and bathroom and lots of time to assimilate.

    I tend to be quiet unless I am listening to salsa music. I maintain a peaceful and joyful home. I'm a bit of a nerd. I work on the house (!!), passionately study brain health and biohacking, and dance old-school salsa for fun. I do need regular quiet time to recharge my batteries, process info, and dream. :)

    I've lived in the Caribbean, Central America, and South America. I've always been fascinated by other cultures. I would love to learn about your home and the countries you dream of visiting!

    I work from home part of the day, so we will be around each other a lot. However, you will see that there is plenty of space indoors and out for privacy. This is a unique home with tons of natural light, books to borrow, scenic views, and a large kitchen. Once you go outside you will feel like you are in a new world!

    I do have a sweet little pup, and I am allergic to him! I keep my home clean. Once he knows you, he will just want to snuggle and love on you.

    I have occasional houseguests, but no worries! You will still have your own private room. Depending on home repairs and other workers, you will either have your own bathroom or share with another worker.

    Please, no drugs of any kind, and especially no smoking due to fire hazards in the desert.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be living in a bordertown in the US, and you will experience life in the Sonoran Desert. Less than 5% of those living here are *not* Hispanic. Come see what it is to live in a town that is heavily influenced by Mexican culture, providing support to those crossing the border daily-- or for the first time. You could practice either Spanish (with me or in town) or English (with me or north of town).

    We can cross over to Mexico on foot for the day.

    Going to the local grocery store often makes you feel like you are already in Mexico!

    Nearby, you can find old missions and a lot of historical buildings like San Xavier del Bac Mission. Even the hiking trails have historical significance here.

    The Sonoran desert is diverse. You will be living at 4000 feet above sea level in a desert, unlike anything you pictured before. :) It is an ideal spot for writing, photography, healing, and finding peace. <3

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am seeking help with household projects, yard work, and repairs. My home had been abandoned for a while. Household projects include indoor and outdoor tile work, indoor plumbing and outdoor irrigation work, painting, stucco repair, outdoor fountain work, outdoor, pest control (caulking doors and windows), structural maintenance and repairs, refinishing the solid wood doors, rehoming plants, all kinds of yard work like cleaning and trimming, and cleaning indoors and out. I’m also looking for some creative repurposing of materials from old projects. Many of the projects require creativity, and some may require a little detective work. Much of the home was incomplete when I bought it and I am solving puzzles! I need people who work independently and can follow directions. (Youtube learners are great, too.)
    If any of these areas interest you, I can keep you busy! I would love inspiration for repurposing some old materials like stone and tile, landscaping, and problem-solving. Please help me to finish projects that were not completed, maintain the home, and find solutions for inside and outside of this unique and large home! There are many projects to choose from, and you will never get bored!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am happy to speak with you in English or Spanish, whether that is your preferred language or if you are learning. Also, I am have taught executives how to pronounce English if you are interested. I have taught advanced English language (ex. idioms, phrasal verbs, etc) to adults as well.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a room available for single Workawayers. You will have your own room and probably have your own bathroom. The room downstairs is private and quiet. The rooms downstairs do not have windows, but the house has tons of space and many windows and skylights. There is a LOT of natural light. You will sleep soundly here! The home is grounded. The rooms downstairs stay coolest in summer, and warmest in winter. There is a ton of shared space downstairs with many skylights and windows. If you like to cook, the kitchen will enchant you!

    I have a puppy who stays mostly indoors. It is just not safe outdoors for him. We have had too many sightings of coyotes recently. As long as you close the door, he will stay out. He loves to snuggle and play ball if that is what you want.

    I would love to cook with you! It is important to me to share coffee or meals together. I want to learn all about you and your culture and what makes you tick, and cooking and eating dinner gives us time to interact.

    I eat mostly a keto diet for health reasons, but it is easy to add a side dish if you need carbs. I have a wheat-free home. The house is stocked with all sorts of (mostly!) healthy snacks. If you have a favorite snack, I will do my best to provide it. It helps that local produce is easy to access.

    Breakfast is usually something light, but I always have coffee. I can have oatmeal, fruit, eggs, gluten-free bread available for you. I usually eat leftovers for lunch because I don't have much time. I do cook a fresh meal with protein and veggies for dinner. We can cook/clean together; it is a large kitchen.😍

    PS Although this is a peaceful home and ideal for recuperating and relaxing, please do not think of this as a vacation or a mental health facility.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My home is in an area that is ideal for resting and recharging your batteries in your free time. (Note that this is not a retreat center or mental health facility.) Even though I’m only 10 minutes from town, you only know when the wind blows in the right direction and you can hear the train. Or at night when you can see the lights sparkling in the city. It’s an awesome place to sit outside and stare at the sky and listen to birds. I often sit outside with a cup of coffee in the morning and watch the sunrise.

    There is limited transportation in town, so my home is not a good fit if you don't have a car. This is a town with very few resources, so do not plan on hopping into an Uber without prior planning. And no, if you are arriving from another country, it is *not* easy to obtain a car, license, and insurance for your stay. Please have transportation figured out in advance.

    Sometimes I go to Tucson on Friday nights. I usually go to Tucson or other nearby towns for the day on Saturdays or Sundays. I am happy to go on day trips with you to visit festivals, nearby towns, hikes, etc. I haven't lived here for long, so I am also still exploring! Usually there are so many events on the weekend that there’s no way to see them all!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    I use wifi for work from 7:30-3:30, and it occasionally shuts down if a storm comes through. (This is very rare!) If you are flexible, we can make it work.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Plenty of space for parking.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 278941658779

Weitere Bilder

Feedback


Join our family in the mountains of Virginia, USA
Help with horses in the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains, California