aktualisiert  

Help on small Icelandic horse/ hobby farm in the Netherlands

  • Bisher 637 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 14 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We, mother and daughter, live on a 15-acres smallholding/hobby farm in the southern part of the Netherlands.
    On our farm we have a few Icelandic horses, some chickens (for the eggs), some sheep (our weed controllers), dogs and cats. Some years I may have one or two pigs. Also we have beehives, the little inmates of which help in the pollination of the fruit trees.

    Our farm borders on the woods; the environment is beautiful and quiet. A nice starting point for long walks and cycling trips, while yet we are less than a mile away from the nearest village.

    My daughter living next door, runs a small Icelandic-horse training business. The horses she trains are kept on part of our property, where they graze one of the fields and somewhere else have a ‘horses' paradise' with adventurous paths to roam.
    This horse business is my daughter's, though. You'll find quite a few horses here, and of course Workawayers are invited to watch, but they can not help in the several training programs.
    However, there will always be some horses that can do with a little extra TLC, such as grooming or maybe taking them for a walk in the woods.

    I, the mother, (a linguist by education,) run the hobby farm, which entails tending the other animals, the fruit trees and vegetable garden, sawing/splitting wood for the wood stove, etc.

    There is always a great variety of things to be done around here, and it will be obvious we are looking for Workawayers who like animals and who are used to - and like to do - outdoors work.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Staying here you will have plenty of opportunity to enjoy our beautiful Dutch nature and countryside, while at the same time the bigger cities with their cultural input are within easy reach.

    The farm itself borders on the woods, where you find walking trails, ponds, and if you are lucky you may spot deer, buzzards and other wildlife.

    There are several nice little villages within walking/cycling distance. And if you like some more ‘cultural’ or big-city input, you can there catch a bus to one of the larger towns close by, like Helmond and Eindhoven, where also there are railway stations and trains to other cities like ‘s-Hertogenbosch, the beautiful old capital of this region- or to any other city in our country.

    You will have a good bicycle at your disposal, and you may come with either of us when we go somewhere by car. Of course you may also join us to the movies or to other places we visit.

    As regards the more personal culture, customs and habits:

    Being in our country and at our place, you will most probably find that many things here are different from what you are accustomed to at home.
    To experience this is, I think, one of the main ideas behind going to and staying in another country and culture.
    We absolutely love to hear and learn more about our Workawayers' cultures, but also we expect from our guests a certain openness and willingness to adapt a little to life here, to show some respect for our values and our way of living.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We very much like to have some help now and then, for a week or a few weeks at a time.
    In general, the work here will involve sundry farm chores, such as helping with the animals (only mine, not the horses), cleaving/stacking wood, maybe work in the vegetable garden, cutting hedges, anything you can think of that needs to be done on a (small) farm.
    (Also cooking and/or baking once in a while, is very much appreciated!)
    And if you think up something else: feel welcome to share your ideas with us!
    A few years ago we acquired some 12 extra acres of land, Not only did we here create the "horses’ paradise", but also - with the help of several nature organisations - I am here developing 2 nature projects on what was formerly a dull and rather lifeless cornfield. We planted some thousands of trees and shrubs; these now divide the land into several smaller fields, and also we created an 'Ecological Zone' along the little stream on our South border. My main work here now is tending the (young) trees that in some years struggle with - and often do not survive - the summer droughts, whereas in periods like the present one, they drown in the extreme wetness.

    In short: a lot of exciting and creative things to do!
    For all this, we very much appreciate help from Workawayers who really like to be physically busy - and have some experience in outdoors work.

    We start work every day at 9, with a coffee break at about 11. Lunch is at about 13.30 or 14.00 o'clock, which for our Workawayers means the end of their working day.
    Also, of course, you are welcome to have dinner with us early evenings.
    After dinner we usually like to spend the evening having some time to ourselves.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Staying here you will have your own room, and there is also a special “Workawayers’ den” or 'sitting room' to make yourself comfortable. Of course you will also outside on the property, find nice places to sit quietly and enjoy the surroundings.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I have been a Workawayer myself on several occasions, and with those experiences in mind we hope to be able to help you with whatever you , as a foreigner, would like to see and do here in Holland. There will always be things we ourselves do not think of; please feel welcome to ask questions and discuss whatever you would want to talk about.

    Please take note: you need to have your own insurance, working here!
    Also, we are explicitly looking for non-smoking Workawayers. And please read the Workaway 'rules' to see what's generally being expected of Workawayers.

    In these difficult Corona times we follow the rules as issued by the RIVM, so please find out what they are, and think about what they mean for a stay at our farm.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 278491399434

Feedback (21)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.6)































Garden and build with me in Zaltbommel, Netherlands
Help at an animal rescue centre in Dalen, Netherlands