Looking for help at a Jungle Retreat in Langkawi, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 330 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I own a little jungle wellness retreat, home stay and spa in the nature of Langkawi island. A holiday destination at the north of peninsular Malaysia.

    I am very passionate about living off grid and sustainable living. That is why I chose my establishment right in the jungle. It is very secluded and there are always works to do to keep up the place. The retreat has only two rooms, an outdoor kitchen, a tree house, big piece of lawn and garden and a day spa which only serve two people at a time. I love living in an outdoor concept. So my living room is actually under the bamboo tree with recycle table and chairs. The dining area is also made of wood and sit outside the rooms. There is no TV or WIFI, my guests would sit or lay around on the open space, BBQ, singing under the stars. The hammocks are my library, you just need to bring your own books to read, The open space also serve as yoga, Tai Chi and meditation room under the sky. I am now also in the process of growing herbs, fruits and vegetables and farming chickens. It is my dream to turn this place into a little holistic sanctuary.

    As my establishment is small, I basically doing a "one-man show" most of the times. I am the full time employee. I am doing all the cleaning, setting up beds, gardening, cooking, laundry, maintenance. At times, I also do massage, conducting massage, Tai Chi, meditation classes. I have two part time employees as spa therapists. I have four lovely dogs who are the main attraction to my animal loving guests. They too 'work' for me to keep the guests entertained.

    I am looking for workawayers who are also passionate about the work that I am doing to assist me, exchange knowledge and skills, together we can make this dream come true. Once you gather experience working with me, perhaps you can create your own off grid sanctuary and still making a living.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Touristen

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Many things you can learn here:

    - Fauna and flora in the tropical country. There are lots of beautiful nature on Langkawi island.
    - Why do dusky leaves monkeys has golden babies?
    - Why are bats always hanging upside down in the cave?
    - How many times a farmer can grow rice in a year?
    - Secret places at the waterfall, beaches, mountains.

    - Farming and growing own sustainable food. Local herbs benefits and usage.

    - Service industry hospitality, management and organizing skills.

    - How to live as a minimalist, build things your own, Example: how to build a chicken coup or make a chair from bamboo. How to compose waste and turn it into fertilizer.

    - How to care for stray animals. How do animals of different climax live and what is best for them.

    - You will learn about the local lifestyle and the local cultures. As you will be invited to many festive occasions, traditional ceremonies, rituals and celebrations.

    - Get to know my home stay guests from all over the world. Exchange cultures, knowledge, skills and learn many different languages

    - You be the volunteer as a model for my students if I happen to conduct massage training classes.

    - I may even offer you to work as a part time therapist or yoga teacher.

    - If you are good in music, we can also do jamming, live performance as I know lots of musicians on the island.

    - I love to cook, so we can also exchange some cooking tips. Try out the best roti on the island. Now you know rendang chicken is not suppose to be crispy.

    - I left big city and the corporate world and venture alone into wilderness, serenity and live a simple life. Maybe you can learn a thing or two from me on how to get rid of the rat race lifestyle and find your own passion.

    - I have lots of friends and you may be invited to join me and my friends over dinner, gatherings, parties. You will get to know the friendly local people and expats from time to time. How do they live, what are their dreams, past experience and future plans.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    You only need to help me 4-5 hours a day with the following tasks:

    1) Gardening
    Raking the leaves everyday, cutting grass with a spinning hand cutting machine, trimming trees once a week. Planting herbs and flowers and water them everyday. I have all the necessary tools for you.

    2) Cleaning
    Outdoor kitchen, spa and two guest rooms. Including taking the garbage out. Separate them into recycle bins, compose the waste as fertilizer.

    3) Laundry
    I have a washing machine. Just put them in and then sun drying. Fold them nicely and put them accordingly into the cupboard.

    4) Taking care of the animals: 4 dogs, 1 turtle, may be in future chickens, geese and ducks. Prepare their food and feed them once a day. Shower the dogs once a week. Basically taking care of their overall well being.

    5) Building or fixing the house and other maintenance work from time to time. Building, plumbing or electrical experience is a plus point but not compulsory.

    6) Taking care of the homestay guests. Including taking care of the guests, help checking in and check out, introducing them about the local attractions, dos and don'ts. Assist them in many ways.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Chinese, Malay

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Tree House. A newly built 8 feet x 8 feet small tree house with a 4 feet balcony on the rock hill over seeing greenery of the jungle. The height is 8 feet above the ground, there are hammocks on the stilts of the tree house. You can lay down and read your book. It is breezy and constantly you can see birds, monkeys, squirrels running around. There two single mattresses and cupboard inside the tree house. A table fan, lights and mosquito net. You can use any of the bathrooms and toilets down the rock hill when there is no guest, otherwise you can use the spa bathroom and toilet before 10am and after 6pm. You will need to be adventurous and be prepared to stay in the nature. I am not staying there all the times.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You will have two days off in a week.

    You can use my bicycles or motorbike to move around the island.

    There are many attractions and I am best at sharing those unexplored and non commercial sights. Best local food and hangout places. It is just too many to list out here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Prepare thier food, general care, feed and shower them.
Keep the outdoor kitchen clean at all times.
building, cutting trees are part of your jobs.
Fan room on the tree house is where volunteers stay. Can sleep 1-2 people.
Are you afraid of bugs?
Put laundry on the lines and fold them when they are dry.
Will you able to withstand minor scratches? Get your hands dirty?
Taking care of animals, feed, cook, shower them
homestay and spa
Volunteers painting the tree house
Tree house on the rock hill is where the workawayer stay.
Growing fruits, herbs & vegetables in the farm.
The Host

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 265724571972