Come and help us with energy efficiency renovations before our baby comes in Gatineau, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 13 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2019

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Stay close to downtown in the nation's capital and help us renovate our little 1943 wartime house to add accommodation and make it more energy efficient. Tour the nation's capital and experience French Canadian culture and home-cooked Canadian food while helping out a couple desperate to get the renos done before the family grows in April!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Experience Canadian culture in Gatineau, Quebec with museums, downtown Ottawa, and beautiful Gatineau park practically on your doorstep where you can ski, hike, or bike and see wildlife. Downhill ski hills are close by car, as is the decadent Nordik Spa. Practice your French or English as you prefer with us and learn to cook traditional Canadian food (or grab a beaver tail or poutine).

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Jobs available include caulking, air sealing, insulating, painting/limewashing, decorating/moving furniture and basic sewing. We are adding a basement suite to help increase the neighbourhood density, and air sealing, insulating, and adding thermal curtains to the house to make it more energy efficient. If your balance is good you might help us lay more insulation in the attic; if you can sew maybe you'll help line our curtains, if you have a steady hand you could caulk around the windows, if you know how to lay carpet you could help us with that, if you have furniture-building/cabinetry skills we have solid wood furniture that needs adjusting and finishing, and if none of the above apply we have large wall surfaces that need painting ;). Note that some of the jobs need to be done before others (e.g. painting before carpet), so please let us know which one(s) you have in mind. And if staying close to downtown Ottawa just sounds like fun and you have other skills to offer, drop us a line. The worst we'll say is "no thanks"! :D

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own room in our home. We are very careful with scents, cleaners, and electronics, so the house should be suitable for people with various sensitivities, though please advise us before hand if you have any so we can confirm suitability. We have a very friendly cat named Min (Elmindreda) who enjoys cuddles. Please let us know if you have allergies.
    We anticipate sharing meals and cooking/cleaning duties, but can be flexible. All our meals are prepared from scratch using mostly organic, whole foods. We will accommodate any and all food requirements (e.g. gluten, vegan, etc.), but no "picky eaters" who just don't like vegetables please. If you can't cook, we can either teach you or do the cooking and you can clean :).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 45 minutes by bus or 30 by bike from downtown Ottawa where you can tour parliament, skate on the Rideau Canal, do a ghost tour, and visit many cool museums and delicious restaurants. From our house you can walk to Gatineau park to hike, cycle, or ski in the forest with the wildlife, or walk in the other direction to many lovely restaurants and the Casino.
    We are quiet people who appreciate a companionable cup of tea in the evening and work during the day. We are looking for self-motivated individuals who are aware of their skills (and limits!). We try to live an environmentally conscious lifestyle and hope we can share your interests too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 263192648553