Help us create an organic garden and share our folk culture in Valdres, Norway

Country

Norwegen

Bisher 306 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    551

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    UPDATE
    Most of this season disappeared, so our plans are reduced.
    We still have a couple projects going: we are in the process of building a garden gate, and hope to set up a chicken yard and erect a greenhouse.

    About us
    We have both great interest in our local folk music, and these traditions have a central place in our lives. Knut Arne teaches traditional folk dance and folk song. We both do crafts in our spare time: Olav is 63 years old, and does woodcarving, while Knut Arne is 62 years, and makes stained glass windows, in addition to making national costumes.

    Olav is currently pursuing a BioChar / carbon capture scheme. Our goal is to promote carbon capture through new agricultural techniques. The business is time consuming, so we appreciate assistance

    Where are we?
    We have a smallholding in the district of Valdres, near the central mountains of southern Norway. Our farm lays a three hour drive north of Oslo, between two National Parks, and with a splendid view over the majestic Jotunheimen mountains. Valdres is well known for its culture. We have rich food and craft traditions, and also strong traditions in our folk music. Valdres has six of Norway’s remaining medieval wooden stave churches.

    Our little farm is only eight minutes away from the Beitostølen ski resort. In the summertime our area is perfect for biking, hiking and canoeing. Being rural, we’re still not far away from pubs and restaurants. We hope you will join us hiking in the mountains.

    We speak English and the Scandinavian languages. Our German is embarassing
    In the evenings we both like a glass of beer or wine, and we would enjoy your company.

    Help
    Summer is short in the mountains, so all work must be finished before the end of September.
    • We will be building a small chicken yard 4 x 5 m,
    • Erecting a greenhouse 2,5 x 6 m.
    • Laying concrete brick pavement.
    • - and there’s always some garden work to do.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    A Workawayer with a genuine interest in culture will benift from a stay.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Cooking and basic housekeeping is a part of daily life. All must do their share, so you will be asked to help out in the kitchen and with housecleaning. Normally this is not considered helping time, but exceptions are made for extraordinary housekeeping or housecleaning.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our house is small, so we have bought a used camping wagon with a good standard for your use. We will share bathroom. The rest of our home is at your disposition, but you also have the possibility of privacy and retreat in your wagon.

    The wagon is fine for one person. Two friends or a couple should get along nicely.
    We will provide all meals, but we do not have the capacity to provide separate food requirements such as Halal, Kosher, Vegan etc.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We also love our Mountains, we hope you will join us hiking in the mountains once a week.

    We have reasonably good bus transportation nearby.
    A bicycle will be at your disposition, and we also have a canoe that you may use.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is the fish pond that Workawayer Adam made for us. An incredible achievement!
This is a sketch of the garden gate we will build this summer
Workawayer Felippe doing woodcarving
This is the reason why we don't have Workawayers in the winter!
Olav & Knut Arne
Olav doing woodcarving
Knut Arne's national costume embroideries
Knut Arne with his stained glass
Camping wagon
Knut Arne Teaching dance
Workawayers canoeing
Our garden
Winter in Valdres
Olav & Knut Arne

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)













Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 258754536458