Cultural exchange and helping us renovate our monastery home after a fire in Bever, Belgium

Country

Belgien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 428 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.10.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    962

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our place is very quiet and focuses on offering a space of silence, organic food, art, music, piano in the different workshops, yoga retreats, meditation retreats in which not only our guests but also our volunteers and staff can learn and connect with a level of tranquility and beauty due to our facilities and gardens.

    All the help is in the private section of the monastery, not with our business.

    If you come here, it is not only to make you part of our family (most of the volunteers who have passed through our place have become a solid network of friends and family). also so that you participate in the transformation that everyone who comes can experience. We have a beautiful chapel with a piano where we have concerts and events that will invite you to connect with our locals, friends and other volunteers.

    We also focus on offering very healthy and delicious food. We primarily cook vegetarian dishes. However, at times we prepare meat-dishes. In our private ecological garden, we grow several herbs, spices and berries. So if you come to help us, you can benefit from the cultural change with all the participants, space to meditate (which you can use), high quality food and artistic and philosophical conversations about culture, life in Belgium, etc.

    If you want to come, we hope you will stay for a period of at least 5 weeks, because there is much to learn in the first weeks :).

    At the moment we are adjusting due to the situation with COVID, so we have not activated our retreat season due to regulations.

    Unfortunately last year, a section of our modernized monastery burned down, the place where we live.
    The private part is separate from the other part of the monastery.
    And so we have to rebuild the interior. For this we genuinely ask for your help.
    We welcome the energy and support that motivated workawayers can give us.
    If you have the applicable talents and necessary know-how to help us rebuild
    our house and our garden, we would be grateful to welcome you with open arms, you can help and learn from professional helpers.
    Additionally, there are so many other ways that you can help us, and so we would love
    to adapt the projects to what you are capable and comfortable in doing.
    Please feel free to email us with any additional inquiries.
    We ask for respect and awareness during your stay.

    Location:
    Bever is a small town situated on the borders of the Flemish-Brabant and Henegouwen
    counties. It consists of a mere 2,000 inhabitants, which allows for an incredibly peaceful
    atmosphere in this cozy rural town that overlooks large fields and endearing hills.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We invite you to connect with us in activities such as walks in our town, stay active and positive. Our community is positive, very active. So if they are elements with which you feel connected, you are more than welcome.

    Our place is a community of people (Belgium and international) who are interested in meditation, yoga, classical music, languages, culture, etc. That is why we offer seminars (individual and group) in which everyone as a community benefits.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    All the help is in the private section of the monastery not with our business.

    Gardening:
    We welcome help in the continual refurbishment of our private ecological garden. If you have landscape construction, or maintenance experience, we would much appreciate the help you could offer us.

    DIY help:
    There is a professional man working for us with a lot of experience, he can learn you the way that we do things here;-.
    The house is still a little black after special cleaning, it has to be cleaned again
    We need to build new interior walls.
    Someone who has experience in carpentry so they can decorate new rooms with wood,
    and build wooden furniture.
    Help for painting the house with organic products

    Help with everyday life:
    We are quite busy with rebuilding our house, and so we would welcome individuals who can help with some household activities. This would include, preparing meals, setting the table,doing the dishes - though we have a dish-washer -, keeping everything tidy and clean.
    (Note: cooking your own meals is not considered part of the help.)

    -Other chores: Feeding our domestic chickens, picking fruit, etc,...(there are plenty more tasks that
    we can find for you to do, to fit your experience. Hence, feel free to email us with some
    ideas, or additional inquiries.)

    - Sewing: We need new curtains. Please let me know if you have experience sewing!

    Volunteers benefit from all the facilities and events we launch (currently on pause due to COVID). So in free time volunteers are welcome to use the gardens, interact with other members of our community, use our facilities, play the piano, do yoga! We will be more than happy if you know how to play an instrument or you know about yoga and meditation.

    Our volunteers work help maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    and food and accommodation are included.

    We share meals and do our best to keep our family environment positive, friendly, and calm.

    We will compensate our helpers if they used some of their own expenses to purchase
    certain items. Feel free to ask more questions in regards to this through email.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We ask Workawayers to stay a minimum of two weeks
    You will either stay in a other part of the house,
    max 3 persons duplex
    in a shared room, with a shared bathroom in the main building or in a two-story
    shared studio with private bathroom (shared with max 2 other roommates), 2 tables.
    Your type of accommodation depends on the occupancy, the number of
    volunteers on site, and how early you notify us of your intended arrival.
    We provide organic breakfast, lunch and dinner for our workers

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You will be in a rural town surrounded by fields, a river, a forest and plenty of nature.
    There are some delightful nature walks you can do, or easily take a bike
    and explore the area. If you want to challenge yourself, you can bike up to the Wall. (famous cycling area).
    Cultural sites: Beloeil Castle, Gaasbeek Castle, Notre Dame à la Rose museum (former hospital)
    Exotic bird park “Pairi Daiza” is only 20km away and Brussels can be reached easily by train.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have a good internet in different rooms. Normaly you can work in a special room

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    the dog should not bark, we have a female golden retriever and the chickens are free in the garden.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 253468645541