Come to beautiful Vancouver Island and acquire experience in a sculpting studio, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 112 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.01.2021

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am looking for an individual who appreciates art and culture.
    I require help in a clay sculpting studio from someone who is interested in acquiring knowledge about sculpting from clay.
    If you have been studying in the visual arts, you will appreciate the skill and the routine of a sculpting studio.

    We have an art school & exhibition studio attached to our house where you will meet other artists and art students.

    My partner and I are a male couple who enjoy travelling and discussing current affairs. After 10 years in Montreal we have relocated to Nanaimo on Vancouver Island, British Columbia. We live close to the downtown area and 2 km from a beautiful inner harbour waterfront.

    My partner is a personal trainer and now works in real estate.
    I am a professional sculptor. I teach sculpting from my studio.

    We are easy going and hope to find like minded people.
    We will provide food and accommodation in exchange for 25 hours of help per week.

    - We have a bicycle you can borrow,
    - The house and studio have full wifi

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We also have lots of art supplies, you will have the opportunity to play with clay and will be welcome to share time in the studio. I can share with you what I have learned to help you make a living as an artist/artisan

    Also from time to time we have receptions, art openings, sculpting workshops, etc.
    we also enjoy getting together with varied friends, and Workaways will always be included in such gatherings!


  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    As a sculptor I always need a hand organizing the studio space and day to day studio tasks, maintaining the sculpture garden, the firing room, the reproduction space, and the sculpting area.

    Also from time to time we have receptions, art openings, sculpting workshops, etc.

    If you are interested, we can plan a specific project which will offer you an opportunity to learn an applied specific skill to be able to provide you with the experience you require to focus and work on the same project for the week.

    These projects are planned on a one year cycle:
    the making of clay tile and tile murals
    pouring ornamental cement sculptures to be reproduced for gardens.
    montage of mosaic murals
    outside, we are planning the development of a sculpture garden for summer and winter planting and revitalizing the soil for next year.

    An extended Workaway is possible for someone interested in an apprenticeship.
    I suggest we use a system like Skype to meet initially. This will help us to determine each others level of interest.

    -Contact me with an idea of what interests you and we'll chat to figure out what will work best.

    I can welcome a 1 week work experience every 6-8 weeks.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our home is set up as a cozy space furnished with art work… We have 1 guest bed room with a half-bath. You'd have access to the rest of the common areas of the home (kitchen, living room, dining room, full bathroom and laundry).

    We make a healthy supper each evening (we are not vegetarian). We do enjoy a good beer or wine at the end of our day and sharing the preparation of our evening meal .

    We'll provide all meals, the fridge is always full with good healthy food, for your breakfast and lunch will be self-serve, and we are flexible with meal time.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Nanaimo is a great location for beautiful hiking and bicycle trails. These paths extend from the oceanside to the mountains. Nanaimo is surrounded by ocean on one side and mountains on the other. You can take a small ferry boat from the downtown harbour which will give you access to two smaller islands, Protection Island and Newcastle Island where you will find a magical landscape of beautiful beaches, and an abundance of wildlife.

    We are walking distance to almost everything. I have a bike you can borrow and there is a bus stop few block fom the house

    Nanaimo is a university town, there are many independent cafes, restaurants and bistros with live music. There are many local yoga studios doing multiple classes every day.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    We will provide food and accommodation in exchange for 25 hours of help per week.


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 251287851648