Come and be part of a family of three generations living on 20 acres in Norfolk, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 19 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.01.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 3 generations living on 20 acres in Norfolk, UK. We have a smallholding with vegetable growing, an orchard and chickens and geese, a woodland and wildlife meadow that we manage. We have 2 young children that we home educate and live on the site with my parents. We live with environmental sustainability at our core and we love connecting people with nature and live seasonally.

    We run a small glampsite with 2 yurts and we are currently building a straw bale roundhouse made of a variety of natural materials. This is a great project to get involved in as natural building is really accessible and a fun experience.

    We moved here 5 years ago (we we're previously in London living the rat race & my parents were on a smallholding in devon). We've been setting up infrastructure over this time, beginning by starting the glampsite with a shipping container conversion and adding yurts to the site, creating an orchard, learning coppicing and land management and now building our roundhouse. It's been a steep learning curve and a big change from our London life (Seb was a secondary school music teacher and Kate was a sustainability consultant) and we are living every minute and look forward to having the opportunity to share our Norfolk smallholding life with you.

    We're pretty new to Workaway and so don't have much feedback yet but have had experience of hosting volunteers in our home. We have had experience of one wonderful volunteer from Singapore who stayed for 2 weeks helping out (he found us on facebook seeking volunteers for our natural build and encouraged us to join Workaway) and then came back for a little visit so that his daughter could experience rural life in the UK and immerse themselves in a British family. We've become firm friends. We've also had a fantastic Italian girl stay with us 2 summers in a row to practice her English and help out with our children and glampsite, she has become part of our family and we recently visited her family in Italy.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We would welcome you into our family, with a range of ages there are lots of opportunities to become immersed in British family life. There are lots of opportunities to speak English, eat English food and get to know the Norfolk countryside and our culture. We've got lots of wildlife that live on our site and enthusiastic about sharing our growing knowledge about local wildlife and plants, we're especially keen foragers.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would love help on various building projects we have going on, including with the straw bale roundhouse we are building. We coppice our woodland over winter, have lots of land to manage, chickens to care for, beehives and a vegetable garden and orchard that we would love help with. We run a glampsite on our land with 2 yurts. There's always something going on here! There are no specific skills required, being a quick learner and being keen to have a go, not scared of outside work in all weathers is a bonus :) We have 2 children who we home educate so being happy around children would be great and being happy to help out with them sometimes would be wonderful but we're not looking for full time childcare, more someone to get involved in the projects we have going on and help on the glampsite.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, nearby family members speak French, Italian, German & Russian

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a spare double bedroom with a sink in it and a spacious bathroom very close. We will make sure you are warm and comfortable. We can host individuals, couples or people happy to share a room with a double bed and single futon and can add futons for children if a family would like to stay, although with 2 young children already in the house having a large family wouldn't be ideal because of noise for the grandparents.
    Food is home cooked meals that a healthy British family enjoys. We can easily cater for vegetarian, gluten and dairy free and eat a lot of fresh vegetables, organically grown by ourselves where possible and the season allows. You'll have the chance to taste British foods and we also eat a variety of different cuisines.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We're based in the countryside in Norfolk. There is a bus with access to the lovely city of Norwich, local walks and lots of lovely places to explore. We have a car so can often include you in our family days out or drop you off at local places or at public transport. My dad often goes beach fishing at night or early morning so if you're keen on having a go this might be possible.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Seb and our boys
Kate
Our land
Norwich

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 243429853577