Help on a farm in Sicily, Italy

  • Italien
  • Bisher 158 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Sept. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    my profile rate is very low, sorry digital life is not for me. also in the beginning of my workaway career i've answered to a lot of request and never get answered back.
    and one time a very unpleasent guest left one star rewiew after staying in my place for free without doing anything usefull, just because i'm a very strait forward person and told exactly that.

    so after this presentation, if you've got here.. Hi i'm andrea, born in '86, male, still living with my parents in the garden where i've born. the only one of 4 kids born in this place that decided to remain here and take care of it.
    we have more or less 2,5 hectares of land, half of it is a paddok paradise for our donkeys and horse. the rest is in part an orchard/food forest,and part is left to native vegetation and wild life. we also raise chickens, turkeys, geese and peacocks. they all roam free destroying my veggies and the lawn. and then there is my pack of small terriers that will bark any new comer to deafness and then smother them with fur and happyness.
    i like to produce food. and eat it. it's a strange process but when you harvest the things yourself they taste better.
    also you have the illusion to controll what get inside you. but it's '23 and our atmosphere is full of chems.
    Sicily has become quite tropical in recent years so we grow also tropical and sub tropical fruit trees: mangos, avocado, guava, sapote are already fruiting, in the future there will be also some more species. but we also have sicilian classic citrus and olive trees.
    i also collect plants in general, my parents started it, but i brought it to the next level. here you can see more than a 1000 different species of plants,among native and cultivated. i can also teach a little bit about grafting, i'm able to but not 100% efficient.
    we have a beehive to help pollination, produce our own honey, and in general to give the ecosystem a boost. if you are not allergic i can give you a tour of the colony.

    depending on the season you may be involved in different activities. october/november is time for olive harvest. december to march citrus time. then i'll start to think about the veggies garden.
    all around the year if you have the skill you can also help in routine tasks: weeding, pruning, tilling, cleaning, painting, etcetera..
    in winter with a friend we brew all grain beer so you may also learn about that and sorry in advance but we also like to drink what we brew. there will be sparkling moments. besides the joke is a very interesting process, in wich the possibility are infinite, and basically is applied chemistry and biology.

    donkeys and horse are here mainly to take care of weed and avoid wild fire, they roam free 24/7, but for horse people they can also provide guided meditation and/or fun time.

    we respect every lifestyle choice, but we may also be of different views.
    for example i follow a strict zero zukemberg diet, so don't ask me to message on whatsup, but i use telegram.
    we can cook for vegetarians, but we are omnivore.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    i'm not a good teacher but i like to share knowledge.

  • Arbeit


    I need people to do all the medium job I can't do by myself, would be nice to meet people that already know how to do things, how to use tools and have already some experience with caring a garden.

    a lot of people ask for very long period of time, maybe other hosts prefer this way, but i don't. is preferable a request for a week and then if the things work out nicely go on for a longer period.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Chinesisch (Mandarin): Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    I come from couchsurfing experience so I'm organized in several way to accommodate people. depending also on the number

    In the summer time actually is more pleasant sleep in a tent outside than in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    the place is a bit isolated but you can reach the town easily with bus or the beach just walking down hill for ten minutes.
    we do not need you to stay home all the time, and we are welcome if host want to go around the island to explore sicily. consider that to arrive in catania from messina takes 1 hour and half, and palermo 2 hours and half.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    our connection is not super fast, old lines and capitalism made the trick

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    you can park a van inside the property but it's a bit far from the house.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    yes, but as you can reed we have animals too so it must be done right

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 238686644118

Feedback (1)

Weitere Bilder


Welcome to our beautiful farmhouse, surrounded by olive trees and Umbrian-Tuscan countryside, in Umbria, Italy
Help our family with daily life on our organic olive farm in Puglia, Italy