Bau eines umweltfreundlichen Hundezwingers für unsere 37 Huskies und Farm-Aufenthalt, Victoria, Australien




Bisher 625 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hey, we’re Jake and Kiri!
    We moved back out to the countryside in April last year and we have big plans for the farm. We’re looking for motivated volunteers who can commit to a minimum of 4 weeks to come and get involved with caring for the dogs, giving the farm a makeover and keeping everything running smoothly. Help us put our plans into action!

    Our kennels got burnt out during the 2019/2020 East Gippsland Bush Fires and we've got a whole lot to rebuild.

    The farm consists of around 80 Huskies, 5 Cattle dogs (our ‘Australian Huskies’), a few ducks and one pony called Toby (we say ‘around’ as it changes with various rescues/puppies!)

    Our pack is a mix of breeds who all love making new friends and getting up to no good! With around 85% of the dogs coming to us as rescues, they’ve finally found a place to call home, and what a home it is!

    Volunteering with us here, you’ll become fully immersed in the dog life and it won’t be long before they’ve won you over. But with a pack of this size, we need some helping hands around the farm to get all of the jobs done so that we can give each dog the care that they deserve.

    Aside from the set daily jobs like feeding the dogs, the work can vary from day to day, week to week and month to month, so there’s always something different to experience. We’re also planning on giving the dog yards a bit of a makeover, so you may be involved in some building work too!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    What you can learn depends on how proactive and motivated you are!

    As well as learning how to take care of so many huskies, you might also get the chance to see how they train for the winter season, how we manage their coats in summer, why we feed the dogs what we do, about the equipment we use and what huskies really need to be happy! Away from the dogs, you can learn some practical building skills, landscaping, general maintenance skills…there are so many opportunities.

    Depending on the time of year that you come, you may be working with a group of people from around the world, so you’ll have plenty of time to talk and learn about each others cultures too.

    Just generally enjoying being in Australia, learning about the country and having fun!

  • Arbeit


    The main priority is taking care of the dogs, therefore there are basic daily tasks that will need to be done regardless of the weather…feeding the dogs, cleaning their yards, making sure they all have enough water and filling in any holes that they’ve dug since the last time you checked (they do love to dig!).

    Once these are done, the jobs will vary depending on the time of year, however, they can overlap and there’s always something important to do.

    During the Spring and Summer, you could be bathing and brushing the dogs when they change their coats, cleaning out their splash pools, interacting with visitors and keeping on top of the farm maintenance (fixing fences, gardening, keeping the grounds looking nice, etc).

    During the Autumn, you might get involved with training the dogs, maintaining the equipment and helping to prepare for the Winter.

    If you have any practical/building skills, they won’t go to waste as there is always something to fix or improve!

    The work is mostly outside work and can be very physical and dirty, so you need a good fitness level and lots of energy! You will also be required to handle raw meat when feeding the dogs.

    Experience working with animals isn’t necessary, you’ll learn all you need to whilst you’re here.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    The accommodation at the farm is basic but has everything you need. Volunteers will share a room which can be heated with a log fire.
    Food is provided for you to cook for yourselves. It’s up to you if you cook for yourself or as a group.

    Everything’s run on a generator and we pump water (yes, it’s hot!)…it’s a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life.

    The lack of light pollution up here means you’ll see some of the best sunrises, sunsets and night skies there are! As well as the dogs, you’ll also be surrounded by kangaroos, wombats, deer, emu’s and dozens of possums.

    We live in a remote area about a 4 hour drive from Melbourne. The nearest town is a 15 minute drive and and has a small shop, a bar, bakery and cafe…it’s country living!

    Bairnsdale is about an hour and a half from the farm where there are bigger supermarkets, shops and places to eat. Lakes Entrance isn’t far from here where you can visit the beach (and maybe spot seals/dolphins from the sand!).

    This is not a typical Workaway accommodation set-up, in the sense that you will not be immersed in a family, but rather part of a community of other volunteers and travellers. What we mean is that, although we do gather regularly to spend evenings together, there will be times where you might not see us for a few days in a row, if we are on the road for our businesses.

    Your own transport would be a bonus (but not a necessity!) as it’ll allow you to get out and discover the area a lot more on your time off.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We suggest that you bring old/warm clothes and work boots to work in as the dogs don’t understand the value of expensive clothing! You will get muddy, wet, sandy and covered in dog hair whilst you’re working, so please, take that into account. There are some clothes here left by previous volunteers that you may be able to borrow, but we can’t offer any guarantees on sizes or availability when we have a full house, so it’s best to bring your own.

    It can get cold up here in the evening, so make sure you bring a warm jumper or two!

    When working, we require you to wear long trousers and enclosed shoes for your own protection, a hat may also come in handy during the hotter days.

    Please be aware that the work can involve handling raw meat when feeding the dogs, so if you’re vegetarian, please make sure that you can handle this.

    We understand that everybody would love to spend their working hours solely with the dogs, however, this isn’t realistic as there are so many other important jobs that need to be done. When you’ve finished your day, you’re welcome to spend time with the dogs then (we can assure you that the dogs will love it too!).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day - 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 232648958988