Housesitting opportunity on a finca in Andalusia, Spain

Country

Spanien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 1170 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    71  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Ian, a retired psychologist from the UK, age 63. For the last five years I have been living for part of each year in a simple stone 'cortijo' house with 1.5 hectares of olive and almond trees in the mountains south of Granada, about an hour from the city and from the sea. Since coming here I have hosted at least 60 working visitors, many of whom have left feedback which you can read below.
    Having built a garden and two cabins on the land and developed vegetable plots I am now looking for one person (or a couple) to help maintain the place, including housesitting during the periods when I have to be away for up to a month at a time. This would therefore probably suit somebody who is happy to live quietly and alone at times, surrounded by nature, although the town is just a 15 minute walk away. I have satellite internet so it could could also be possible to work remotely whilst here. The work on the finca mainly involves watering, strimming, weeding and clearing, composting, and care of the trees, chickens and vegetable plots, although with possibilities of other projects such as dry stone wall-building. Ability to use a strimming machine and chainsaw would be an advantage here, as well as experience with gardening and growing vegetables. The working arrangement ideally would be 2 hours each day (this could be flexible although some animal care would be needed every day). In return you would live in your own comfortable wooden cabin amongst the olive trees, sharing the bathroom and kitchen in the house, and self-catering, providing your own food.
    I am ideally looking for someone who is looking for a place to stay for two or three months.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a fascinating area, both historically and geographically, and the main benefit of a stay here is to get to know the region, and experience living in one of the most beautiful and relatively unspoiled parts of Europe. The oldest olive trees on the land were probably planted by the Moorish (Islamic) population who settled here in these valleys for centuries, up until the final ‘reconquista’ of Spain by the Christians in the 16th century. Their ancient ‘acequia’ watering system still works here, making it possible to grow vegetables and fruit trees as well as olives and almonds. The views of the valley and the distant mountains are beautiful, and there is an atmosphere of complete peace and tranquility in the natural surroundings, with wild animals also inhabiting the land. The traditional white villages, established by the Moors throughout the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada (the area known as 'Las Alpujarras') can be seen on the distant hills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Looking for help maintaining the house, garden and the vegetable plots. The land is spread over seven terraces of olive and almond trees, with rough and sometimes steep tracks in between, so unfortunately I am unable to accommodate visitors who are not able to manage this easily. Practical skills in house repairs, experience of use of power and hand tools, and gardening and horticultural knowledge would be a big plus here.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is based in or near to the 2-bedroomed stone house, which is quite basic but equipped for reasonably comfortable living. Visitors sleep either in a twin bedroom which leads directly onto the covered terrace (see picture) or in a separate comfortable wooden cabin with double bed and own fridge. The house itself is quite small and open in the arrangement of rooms, so personal space and privacy inside the house are quite limited.
    Meals and meal preparation may be negotiable depending on who is around at any time, but much of the time will be self-catering, with only basic provisions provided. Vegetarian diet is the norm here and vegans are welcome. Housework in the cortijo (especially kitchen and bathroom) is shared. Drug and heavy alcohol use are not encouraged.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The Alpujarras is a popular area for visitors throughout the year, and there are many interesting sights in the various white mountain villages, and possibilities for hiking and other outdoor activities. With a car, several beaches (including three nudist beaches) can be reached in under an hour.
    The local market town is only 15-20 mins walk away, so visitors are able to be fairly independent without a car here. There are buses from there to the local mountain villages, the coast, and to Granada city (75 mins). Malaga is a 3-4 hour bus trip away, via Motril or Granada, although can be reached by car in about 90 mins.
    It is important that all visitors have their own arrangements in place to access healthcare (European health insurance card or private insurance), and are prepared to accept liability for their own safety during their stay, including only taking on work tasks in which they feel skilled and confident. Copies of identity documents and emergency contact details will also be asked for.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2 hours every day (with flexibility)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.9)











































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 229275658667