Help in the house and garden in Philadelphia, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 67 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.10.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    87.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    **Currently seeking:
    1-2 people for 1 week in November or December to help with painting and organizing a basement craft room
    2 people for 2-3 weeks in January through March to help with paint stripping/sanding/repainting**


    We are a couple of young world travelers who haven't shaken the itch despite settling down! We have both lived abroad and love experiencing new cultures and making friends around the world. Come experience historic Philadelphia with us in our charming Victorian home! As our nation's birthplace, Philadelphia has a lot to offer in history, museums, parks, and beautiful old architecture. It is also easy to get to New York City, Washington D.C., Atlantic City, Baltimore, and the Poconos from here, making it the perfect base to explore much of the region.

    We are looking for Workawayers to join us in updating our old house with a number of small projects and repairs (no major renovations involved). We are looking for 3 full days of work per week, though we're happy to discuss half days if you'd prefer. On days off, it is an easy 20-minute train or bus ride into center city to experience all that Philadelphia has to offer! We are also a short 10-minute walk from Main Street Manayunk, a hip young area full of restaurants, bars, and fun activities. For those who prefer the outdoors, you will find the massive Wissahickon Valley Park just three blocks from our door, with over 50 miles of hiking trails through the woods, and bicycling and horseback riding available right along the river.

    We love inviting people into our home and sharing experiences with them, but we also recognize the need for personal space sometimes! Outside of work hours, we will follow your lead on how much interaction you are hoping for with us. We provide all meals on work days, and breakfast on days off, though there may be occasions when we host additional dinners as well. You will have a private guest room, and full access to our library of over one hundred books. One of us works in publishing, so if you love reading (especially science fiction & fantasy), you will love your time here!

    In addition to cultural exchange, if you are interested in publishing, we have a small amount of internship-style work that can be arranged, and are more than happy to teach you the ins and outs of the industry if that's something you would like to learn. We are looking for help with our house first and foremost, but this could be a great opportunity for a Workawayer to get hands-on experience for a possible career path at the same time.

    When messaging, please tell us which tasks you are interested in and what you are hoping to get out of this experience. We look forward to welcoming you into our home!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are here to teach you about our wonderful city which is rich with the history of the United States. If you have not traveled to the US before, we are excited to share our culture with you--it is richer than many realize. We have also lived extensively outside of the United States and can share many of our experiences with you. Plus, if you've never done painting, paint stripping, or gardening before, this is a great chance to learn! We will walk you through it.

    Between the two of us, we speak beginner French and intermediate-to-advanced Japanese. We are happy to help Workawayers practice English, and love learning what we can of other languages as well. We also love experiencing new foods, and can introduce you to local cuisine and teach you American-style cooking if you want (again, it is better than people realize).

    Those interested in learning about publishing can learn all about how the industry works, what career roles exist in publishing, and what those jobs entail. You can get hands-on experience with the query process, and learn how an agent decides what projects to work on and how to edit a manuscript.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have tasks for both experienced and inexperienced workers! Even with no experience, we are looking for your help with:
    Cleaning and organizing a messy basement into a craft room space
    Dig up and realign front walkway slates
    Stripping paint from windows and trim
    Interior painting
    Caulking
    Moving/assembling furniture
    Gardening and landscaping
    Pulling vines and ivy off of walls/fences

    The following tasks will require some previous experience or artistic skill:
    Carpentry - building banquet seating in a bay window
    Plaster repair
    Refinishing hardwood floors
    Insulating a basement crawl space
    Painting a mural on an indoor wall (good task for an artist)
    Create dried flower bouquets in shadow boxes (prefer someone with experience with dried flowers)

    We are looking for people who are dedicated and self-sufficient, able to follow through on a task without supervision. Some of these jobs will be done collaboratively with all of us together, but some we will get you set up with an overview and then expect you to finish while we move on to other tasks. Many of these tasks WILL get you dirty, so be prepared and bring clothing you don't mind messing up!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Japanese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two guest rooms, one with a queen bed and one in the library with a day bed. Both rooms are part of the Workawayer's personal space, and the library includes a TV and game system for your use, as well as over 100 books you are welcome to read. The upstairs bathroom is shared.

    We provide all meals on work days, and breakfast on days off, though there may be occasions when we host additional dinners as well. We predominantly (though not exclusively) cook vegetarian, and can accommodate most dietary restrictions (such as vegan, gluten-free, or specific allergies) with advance notice.

    Public transit is so easy to reach that we don't own a car! Given the ease of buses, trains, and Uber, we do not expect this to be a problem for visitors, but please be aware. If you wish to rent a car for a day or longer, there is Enterprise Car Rental about a ten minute walk away.

    Our family includes two small rabbits who live on the first floor. They have free run while supervised during the day, but are closed in a hutch at night, and they are never upstairs in the bedrooms. We vacuum and brush them regularly. Still, if you have severe allergies to pet dander, this may not be a good fit for you.

    Please note that we are a non-smoking home, and though we do drink alcohol occasionally, we do not like people being blackout drunk in our home. Our house has one shared wall with our neighbors, so we ask that you keep volumes to a respectable level at all times, and quiet hours after 11pm.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Philadelphia has so much to offer! Just in center city, you can find:

    Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell - historical icons of our country's independence
    The Art Museum and Rodin Museum - our large art museum hosts many famous pieces, and a separate building houses the incredible sculptures of Auguste Rodin
    Reading Terminal Market - an indoor market with tons of local food and boutiques
    The Mutter Museum - a fascinating exhibit of medical history and oddities
    The Franklin Institute - an incredible science museum with excellent rotating exhibits
    Eastern State Penitentiary - a historic prison with exhibits (in October they do a world-class haunted house!)
    Magic Gardens - a mosaic sculpture garden
    Philadelphia Zoo
    and so much more!

    If you'd like to venture further afield, it is only 2 hours to New York City, the cultural hub of the northeast! You could easily take a day trip to visit the Metropolitan Museum of Art and catch a show on Broadway. We previously lived in NYC for ten years and can make many recommendations and help you plan a visit.

    As mentioned before, our house is three short blocks from Wissahickon Valley Park and its incredible collection of trails for hiking, biking, and horseback riding. It also contains the country's oldest preserved paper mill, which you can tour. Next door to our home is an art gallery that often hosts art and photography classes. A short walk down the hill and you will be in Manayunk, a popular destination for the 20-30 age group. Manayunk has many restaurants, bars, and shopping, as well as frequent street festivals. You can also go kayaking on the Schuylkill River.

    If you are a foodie like us, Philadelphia has an incredible variety of excellent cuisine available. We'd be delighted to introduce you to the best spots, no matter what your preferences are!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 8 hours a day, 3 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 219754335263