Help our family with daily life on a small off-grid organic homestead in Saint Croix falls, Wisconsin, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 6 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.04.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a married couple with two young boys, always learning - to farm, follow intuition and flow, live simply and inexpensively, and make a Living rather than merely money.

    We live off the utility grid, using limited solar power, wood heat, and a nice composting outhouse. We offer a vintage 1950s 2-bedroom mobile home, a 1970 RV, an insulated 8x16 ice fishing shack, or perhaps even an 8x8 pallet fort shack (if you're into such things) as options for guests to sleep in.

    As we strive to stay on top of both our farm work and raising our sons (currently a 4-yr old and a 2 month old), we are looking for helpers to assist with home efforts (cooking meal, doing dishes, and cleaning) - as well as the experience of taking part in this experiment in alternative living and organic farming! It's a busy life but a wonderful one. During the growing season we produce an abundance of a wide variety of vegetables to cook with and enjoy! We are flexitarians, I'd say - omnivorous and open to vegetarian meals, preferring to minimize industrially-farmed meat.

    The farm is near the beautiful Saint Croix River and just over an hour from the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul in Minnesota.

    We strive to become as self sufficient as possible on our farm, growing food, avoiding expenses, bartering with like minded people, and gently getting as free from the matrix of standard materialist mainstream operations as we can.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn to live and grow with minimal inputs and cash, how to grow abundantly with minimal intervention even in sandy soil. See how one family of former urbanites is finding a way to live without the amenities of modern consumer convenience culture.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Primarily, we would like household help while we are busy with the farm work and the kids - so work such as washing dishes, cleaning, and preparing meals. We are off-grid, so things are somewhat odd, but the learning curve isn't too steep.

    Other work depends on the state of the garden; we want to build a wood fired pizza/bread oven, and an entire house - and could use help with many aspects of such, if skills and timing align.

    Homestead tasks such as hauling, splitting, and stacking firewood are also nice to have extra hands with, as well as foraging wild fruit.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a separate vintage 2-bedroom mobile home for guests, with (somewhat limited) electricity and a propane stove/oven. Also available is an 8x16 ice fishing house or, for the adventurous, an entirely off-grid 8x8 shack made of pallets and body panels from ~1930 automobiles. (We have hosted WWOOFers since 2014.)

    We generally eat communally, with meals usually consisting mainly of food we have grown, eggs from our hens, and wild food foraged from the surrounding woodland. Open to other arrangements as well.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are surrounded by county forests, and a mile away from the gorgeous Saint Croix River - a federally protected natural waterway, wonderful for swimming in the summertime. The urban jewel of Minneapolis is 90 minutes away, and during the growing season we travel there regularly to bring our vegetables to our shareholders. We have bicycles for guests to use, a pair of wonderful neighbors, and weekly feasts at a local charitable wood-fired pizza gathering.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    we dont have standard hook-ups, but we have lots of room. Can work out limited electrical, as can water.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    we have free range chickens that dogs cannot kill, as well as a tiny dog who can't be attacked.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 212982915694