Help with kitchen renovation projects in Valdres, Norway



Bisher 1933 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    Dear workawayers,

    We have started Yoga Retreat Center in an area called Valdres in Norway fve years ago.

    Focusing on health, yoga and overall well being, we strive to offer an unique experience where people can come and feel the warmth of our people, try great wholesome food, practice and learn about yoga, explore the lovely mountains and lakes all around the area and hopefully go back home appreciating the simplicity of life.

    We've worked with different projects here so far as:
    - An emergency refugee camp for 3 months
    - Drug addiction rehabilitation non-profit project through yoga
    - Teenage camps
    - Yoga Teacher Training
    - Yoga Festivals and retreats

    As for the place we have a big house with space for about 100 people and lots of land.
    Right now we are about 5 people living here helping with different tasks according to situation but we all do a bit of everything. Some are travelers, and some are professionals regards to kitchen Chefs, builders and construction workers.

    The climate is rather cool most of the year, and the snow usually starts melting around end April/may, so bring warm clothes and hiking shoes so you can enjoy the outdoors comfortably any time of the year.

    For the moment we're mainly looking for people with a passion for healthy and sustainable lifestyles, and those who have a deep interest in practicing selfless work for a greater good (karma yoga) .
    We look both for long-term (3 months) and short-term helpers (minimum 1 month). But for the summer we only look for long-term helpers!

    The regular schedule here:
    We usually start the day at 6.30/7.00 with our yoga practice (mysore style). Here we practice mainly ashtanga yoga and you are very welcome to join us. If you never practiced it before and would like to learn, we will gladly teach you.
    Breakfast is at 9 am for our guests and our team. At 9.30 we have a meeting with the team. During the day we will be working in our previously assigned tasks - we have a weekly schedule where we can see what are we doing and when is our days off.
    Lunch is around 1.00 pm and we usually sit and eat together after our guests serve themselves from the buffet. In the afternoons during events usually our guests explore the surroundings or have yoga classes. You are welcome to join the classes if there is available space in the room and if you are in your time off.
    Dinner is around 6.30/7.00 and our bar will be open according with the type of event we have, but normally till 8 pm.

    About us:
    R. Alexander
    Is the founder of our yoga retreat center. He has studied Yoga and Indian Philosophy for almost 20 years now. He's lived in many places around the world both teaching and studying. Lately he's been working with projects trying to teach and share the practice of Yoga to people outside of the Yoga studios including prisons and homeless centers... He still does this as well as running the retreat center, organizing events and other projects around the country.

    Is our team leader and manages the place. Aside of that and teaching yoga, she studies International Environmental Studies and tries to enhance more sustainable options for running this place. You can find her together with her dog Raja shadowing her on every step.

    Is the helper mentor, also yoga teacher and thai masseuse. She will be guiding you throughout your time here, so you can take the best out of this experience with us.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can enjoy our breathtaking views, explore the surroundings, experience community living, learn about vegetarian food, yoga practice, meditation and Indian philosophy.

    If you come you can learn many things, as well as we would love to learn from you!! We are open to share skills and knowledge among us in our free time, so if there is something you would like to share, please do!

  • Arbeit


    We look for people who want to help with:
    Permaculture in cold climates.
    Knowledge of green house building etc...

    The tasks are assigned according with your expertise and our needs at the given moment.
    Some of the tasks can be:

    - Feeding our goats, chickens and cat
    - Clearing spaces outside the building
    - Painting
    - Helping repairing and renovating
    - Photography and educative video production
    - Gardening. We are very newbie so people with experience in this area are welcome
    - Taking turns cooking for volunteers and doing dishes
    - Drive to run errands

    We want people to see this place as their own, and look for possibilities to help with anything any time. As if one person is overloaded with work, look for chances to help each other out. Some days can be very long and challenging, others can be very relaxed and easy going. Helpers should be flexible with the hours. Some, very short, some a bit longer.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Norwegian

  • Unterkunft


    A room either shared or private depending on space. showers, heating, electricity, sheets and free food every day. Daily yoga practice.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are possibilities to ski, swim, boat ride, canoeing, camping, climbing, biking, run, hike, fish, jump on the trampoline or just hang out with the helpers.
    It's a great area to go hiking. You can either go for a short walk or a camping trip with your tent and a backpack.
    There are cities around 30-60 mins in all directions by car.
    One big Ski resort called Hemsedal is 30 mins away.
    3 hours trip to Oslo.
    From a city 30 mins away, there's a bus which goes to Oslo.

    We haven't had experience running such a big place like this before, so everyday is a new opportunity for growth. This is the beauty of it, as we get to experiment and work towards a vision of having the place as a location for wellness in Northern Europe. It's a lot of fun and if you want to be part of it, you're welcome to join =)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (4.9)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 185415343679