Join me for a unique experience on this sustainable and private island, Iceland

Country

Island

Bisher 1351 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    984

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hæ.

    My name is Hákon. I live on the island Traustholtshólmi with my dog Skuggi.

    Traustholtshólmi is a sustainable and private island.
    It is a place of stunning beauty, untouched by modern development.
    It is an island within an island.

    Spanning approximately 57 acres, my island is located just 3 miles from the mouth of the glacial river Þjórsá and has been in my family for generations.
    I grew up running around the island, harvesting goose and duck down and eggs from its various nesting sites and observing the nesting ravens which return yearly to raise their young there. The river also has plenty of seals which are easily observed by visitors. And actually one of my favorite activities is to go out on the river late in the evening, shutting off the boat engine and just drift down, waiting for the seals to swim up to swap stories with me.

    You know I want to share this place that I love so much. So I have started a tourism business for visitors interested in having a unique experience in a unique location.
    Aside from a single stone house that I recently renovated, the island remains untouched. My electricity comes from a windmill. I collect rain and river water, and food comes primarily from the island. I grow Herbs and vegetables in my gardens. I fish wild salmon in the river and guests will be given the opportunity to experience a traditional way of catching the wild salmon, using a net.

    It is important to me to keep the island and the island experience pristine. My ideology is built on the principals of Eco-living; placing equal importance on preserving the island's natural state as upon the welcomed guests opportunity to directly contribute to our island’s sustainability and cultural preservation.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Living at Traustholtshólmi is a unique experience. It is a place like no other. For a traveler, tho ruff it will surely be an adventure. Where else will you have the opportunity to live on a private island in the middle of a glacier river surrounded by the mountains and glaciers of South-Iceland? ;-)

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am moving back to live on the island on April 15.
    In this month it's going to be a lot of hard labor together, we will build up the Mongolian Yurts and organize everything around the island after it was uninhabited during the winter months.
    The Yurts are the biggest project, but I also need to build a fishing dock, a floating dock, a small greenhouse, and other building projects.
    Another big and nice project is to prepare the gardens and plant seasonal veggies and herbs for our use.
    There will be ongoing small projects to make our life more comfortable and the island more efficient. You will learn a lot about managing on your own and making the best of what nature provides.
    In June we will move our focus more to maintain the island and keeping everything clean and tidy, this becomes a routine just like maintaining the garden. Building and gardening projects are ongoing thro out the summer.
    I do mostly need help with building projects in summer 2020 so I mostly look at people with work experience in some trade.

    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️ You need to be able to have a conversation in English *️️️️️️*️️️️️️

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Icelandic: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    It is a little ruff living. Not your typical city household. I am trying to get the (of the grid) water system running. Until then we go every few days to a nearby town to the swimming pool. Electricity comes from the wind and solar and charges batteries; you can charge your phone and laptop. I have WiFi. The heating is minimum (Gas-burner and a wood-stove), but my blankets are warm. Volunteers will get a private room with a bed and clean covers.. :) One opson is a big Bell tent that is super cozy.
    I will provide all the groceries you need, but you should be able to cook for yourself in my kitchen. I am open to all your dietary preferences.

    Overall you will see how time slows down on the island, and even after a day´s work, we can still have a night of playing cards and generally being happy :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Being an island, it is isolated. So it is the perfect place to relax and connect with your inner self (get away from it all).
    If you are a creative person, it is perfect to work with your art; painting, writing, playing music, etc.
    It is only an hour from the capital. If you have a driving-license, we can discuss you borrowing my car.
    The island is located in south Iceland not far from many of Iceland's most popular tourist attractions.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Approximately 3-4 hours. 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)
















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 169465259426