Gartenbau mit einer Familie aus Canterbury in Neuseeland!

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 188 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 8 this is.... a Mother and a Father and 3 adult children (2 sons and 1 daughter). Our eldest son has 3 children and we are supportive to him when he has the children with assisting within his home.

    We enjoy a rural lifestyle, we don't travel into town often apart from work purposes when required. We have a large Vegetable Garden and enjoy the bounty from this.

    We are not large meat eaters! But enjoy meals such as pizza, pasta meat bake, stuffed potatoes and meatloaf. We have mainly salads etc pretty fresh and simple summer meals.

    Cooking is second nature to us daily we make bread (bread maker) and we will do a sweet item here and there. For health reasons we don't have alot of sweet items. Our supermarket shopping is fortnightly and we buy in bulk where suitable. If you want hints and tips on "cost cutting" we have knowledge!

    We live a 35 minutes drive from the big city of Christchurch. The nearest bus is 15mins drive.

    We are a busy busy family. Our daughter is very committed to her ever growing business which requires more and more time. We know she is here to do things and will do things but the loading is getting bigger and she needs to grow her business within the Horticulture sector.

    Our eldest son is in business with us in the technology sector and our youngest in also involved in this.

    Over the last 2 years both Mother and Father have had knee replacement and this has put us behind a bit.

    We are the type of people who wear many hats all our children are full time students also studying in the adult years to extend their knowledge and gain paperwork to reflect the skills they have.


    Currently our Fur-babies are consisting of 3 Cats (1 semi-shy senior Siamese who rules the lounge and daughters office, 2 Tabbies of which 1 is shy),1 Dog, 1 vocal pet sheep, 1 Retired House Cow (Pet Cow), 9 chickens - these are able to be fussed and cared for during your visit as they allow.

    Note: we are strictly non-smoking environment.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Within these tasks and the involvement within our family we believe we can offer you opportunities to learn and develop skills for life that are universal around the world.

    Our family has strong knowledge in Agriculture and Horticulture and are willing to give you hands on 1 on 1 experience and knowledge as a learning point sharing our “Kiwi” Ways throughout your stay.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would love an extra pair of capable hands!

    We wish to provide you an experience and you will work alongside our Daughter or the Mother at times.

    We have a few projects we are keen to get a hand on. Some of these are:
    - painting a couple sheds - roller/bush work
    - installing micro-irrigation to our extensive vegetable and flower gardens.
    - installing some fencing posts - tree protection
    - building a small sheep yards. - pet sheep!
    - plus opportunities within the farm environment where required.

    Also never say no to someone who is keen to follow a recipe and cook a family meal that's on the menu or to do a little housework/outside tidy up (2 hrs a week max) tasks such as sorting craft containers to gain some order, folding and washing linen cupboard goods and organizing these types of cupboards.

    Also tasks can include:
    - Taking Cuttings and pruning plants
    - Bedding garden down for Winter
    - Making Compost Tea
    - Spreading Compost Tea
    - Rust proofing
    - Planting Vegetables
    - Sowing Seeds for Vegetables

    If you are keen to work in the outdoors are a self starter and enjoy making a difference it would be lovely to host you.

    On the farmland we will travel to other areas of the farm to...
    - Firewood - its been split and tossed but needs to be stacked for the Winter Season to minimize the space its taking up.
    - Summer catch up - Collecting Pine Cones and other goods used for fire starting in Winter.

    Assistance with tasks where more than one person is ideal what we aim for or those tasks that someone with time and patience are key .

    Enjoying bird life and spot the native birds while we complete tasks or be surrounded by one of our friendly cats while outside!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We are able to provide accommodation separate but only 20m the Homestead. Included are a Bathroom (Shower, Toilet and Basin) and Kitchenette and lounge and Bedroom - 2 single beds.

    We ask you to join us for Lunch and Evening meals in the Homestead Kitchen and Breakfast facilities and supplies are available within Accommodation for your ease of starting the day at your pace.
    Assistance normally is needed from about 9am but a bit of flexibility is present based around weather hotter days we start at 8 to beat the heat!

    Accommodation and farm is Smoke Free sorry (due to fire risk and items stored on farm) . Plenty of Fresh Bread and baking is supplied for those hungry moments although everyone has advised us we feed them very well to date!

    Self contained accommodation you are welcome to stay up as long as you like!

    WiFi access within your lounge and accommodation area!

    We have 2 bikes for you to use while you stay with us.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your free time we have Wi-Fi internet available onsite and also we host an access point (main starting point) only 900m for the Little River Rail Trail.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    6 hrs week days weekends free for own time, max 5 days a week










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 166648794488