Ecological vegetable garden on the border of Belgium and Luxembourg in Grand-Failly, France




Bisher 89 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    We are happy Dutch couple 70 and 74 retired. We love to meet new people from al over the world, it keeps us young. Buying our house in the 90ties ment that we bought a ruine with a wild bush field at the back of it. And since then we are working to make our dream come trought: our own house and grow our own vegetables.

    We have a big ecological vegetable garden, with ducks and chickens. We love to grow our own food without pest- insect- and other cides. I would love to say it is a permaculture garden, this culture interest me a lot, but it is not: I do not know enough of this way of gardening, and still learning

    We try do grow heirloom varieties as much as possible. Hans works in the house and doing repair work. Since I have a back problem/ blessure since last year he has to help me a lot in the garden. It would be helpfull for both of us if we could get some help in the garden, so Hans can continue with the buildingwork.
    Now it is end summer. I can always use some help in the garden, but normally the biggest work is done. We can still do some tree cutting, à lot off clearing, weeding etc.

    Hans can always use help with building and repairing in and around the house. That help can be given the whole year around. At the moment he is looking for help to restore the old walls of our house. this work involves emptying the joints, that is, scraping out / picking / removing the old clay that is 100 or more years old, brushing and then filling the joints again with new cement. There are still a lot of walls remaining to do! one outside, and with bad weather there is one inside to do. So if you are not afraid of a bit heavy and dusty job, you are more than welcome! You do not do this task for more than 4 hours a day. There is also some paint work on thé outsider of the house to do. And a lot of little repairthings.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can learn you much about growing your own vegetables..not on a big scale/farmway but really for you and your family. I use new ideas like no-dig gardening, lasagna gardening, mulching and a Keyhole gardening. I am still learning a lot about all that. I can tell a lot about how to preserve, but sorry, there is not so much to preserve in spring.
    I can also tell some about edible wild plants and bis-annual vegetables.
    Hans can transfer you his skills for building and repairing. He does a lot of recyclingwork around the house.

    Our village is calme, 300 people and there is nothing more to do then have a nice walk trough the fields, cycle and/ or read a book in the garden. There is a lot of space here between the villafes. This is an area normally very agriculture. We still have 5 farmers in the village. Normally we have good internet and mobile acces.
    Which is also very nice about our village: we have a village garden with vegetable growing next to the church. There we work with a group of volunteers and we also try out ideas about permaculture. We just started a food forest in the village very near our house!
    Every year we have a village party with an ecological theme.
    That day the villagegarden Is open for everyone , and we have plants, workshops, information to sell or to give.
    (and in the weeks before the party all help is welcome!)

    I think you need a car if you want to do more outside the village. If you are on longer stay we will surely go out to show you the area!
    We can speak Dutch, English or French if you like.
    We are 30 KMS from the battlefields of Verdun, first WW.
    Close by France: Metz&Verdun- world city of peace-
    Luxembourg: Luxembourg city
    Belgium: Arlon.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    What we specially need is 2 fit persons who love to work outside and help me to keep the garden in good shape, further to help cooking at the moment. And a second person who is not afraid to work with Hans on the joints of the house, painting and repairing jobs. Maybe you are a couple who like to enjoy also our little guesthouse? Or two friends with different skills?

    We also prefer a couple or two of friends because we have found in previous workaway experiences with onr person that we find it exhausting to eat and spend every night together. For example, we would like it if you regularly, by appointment, cook and enjoy yourself in our nice rental house. The house is very suitable for that, and of course we provide all the ingredients.

    The work will be like this:
    In the garden
    * Weed-up the no-dig beds and mulch them with straw.
    * Cleaning parts of the garden were weeds grow that we do not want there. This will say: cutting or taken out wild blackberries, not wanted herbs etc.
    * Help maintain the veg garden.
    * Help with processing the vegetables and fruit for winter storage.

    *now, end of the summer also processing the rest of the harvest, picking apples, mostly cutting and planting trees and cleaning..

    In the house:
    *help with everything Hans is doing, at the moment can also be cutting wood, repairing the roof, refreshing the joints of the walls in our 18e century house, painting windows and doors, cleaning etc.

    * Maybe if you like to cook preparing meals alone or together, After 50 years in the kitchen I still like to learn other ways of preparing our daily food but you can make me very happy to prepare a good meal for me. We eat meat but also fish and a some days in the week vegetarian. We do not mind to eat vegetarian for a longer periode.

    * there is some help needed with my computer..maybe it is a small thing, i am not sure.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a stay in our guest suite there is a big kitchen with table and chairs and besides a bedroom with a 1.40 bed with big sitting area and a toilet/shower beside. If you are with two friends who want to sleep apart there is an other bedroom upstairs (no toilet on that floor). There is no tv but there is WiFi in this house. If you stay here I count on you to clean t before leaving so I can open it for renting again.

    I provide ingredients for breakfast and also for the days that you cook for yourself in your kitchen and the other meals we eat together we can have together in our part of the house.
    Normally I rent the guest suite out and it is all in good shape, it was the first part of the ruïne that we repaired.

    **If the guesthouse is rented there is still a friends room available that means we share the kitchen and the living space. You will still have a own toilet on the downstairs floor.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We can get and bring you to the train station if you do not have a car. For the rest, besides as we are going to do some shopping it will be a stay in the village, we do not take the car often! My husband is mostly busy with repairing and building in the house, and I am in charge of the garden. If you want to get out to see Verdun, Metz and Luxembourg you really need a car yourself. We can always see about a trip with the car..;0)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    we have an orchard with place for a camper or van.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 164988193446