Help on farm with sheep, chickens and gardens in the Hudson Valley, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 542 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.09.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    80.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I grew up in Basel, Switzerland. After many years of hotel management in several cities in the US, I traveled around the world and worked in Asia for the past few years. In 2017 I acquired a farm in Copake, NY, where I now live and work.

    We are creating a sustainable environment, and would like to invite people who share our values to come help and enjoy this beautiful land. I practice reduce, reuse, and recycle daily, and do everything I can to minimize the use of plastics on the property.

    We have sheep, goats, and chickens whose jobs are grazing the fields and providing natural fertilizers. In early 2019 we built a kitchen garden and a green house. We use sustainable / organic methods in everything we do. Come share your knowledge and learn with us as we build up the farm.

    Copake, NY is at the northern tip of the Hudson Valley; it's about a 2 hour train ride from New York City. The nearest train stations are Wassaic and Hudson, both about 30 minutes drive to/from the farm. Though very private and peaceful, the farm is located nearly in the center of the town of Copake, and walking distance to the local general store, diner, pizza parlor, convenience store and bar/pub.

    Please join us here in Copake!

    Best regards,
    Dominik and team

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Farming and sustainable living in international setting.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for energetic helpers to assist with our herd of sheep, brood of chickens, flock of turkeys, and handful of goats. There are building projects around the house, workshop and barn. We have ongoing plans to expand our gardens. Sometimes we need help with landscaping and tree trimming. Cleaning and organizational skills are always welcome. Most importantly a positive attitude and a willingness to learn can go a long way.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Shared RV camper or small cabin

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Nearby attractions and point of interests include Taconic State Park, Camphill Community, Great Barrington, MA. and many historic towns with long farming history.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day for 5 days

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 157622978917