Learn about animals, permaculture and sustainable farm-living at this animal sanctuary in Mexico City

Country

Mexiko

aktualisiert  

Bisher 100 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    About Me

    Hi everybody. Thanks for reading my profile. My name is Ryan. I am a plant-based activist. I Love animals. Trying to live as simply and peacefully as I can. My eco-project is a small no-cage no-kill animal sanctuary. I live off the grid in a sustainable way in a little farm outside city of Mexico.🌱

    I founded and run an animal sanctuary where I rescue and rehab abused Animals. Today more than 100 abused and neglected animals rescued from the streets call me home. Living life in total freedom 💚

    I have always felt at ease and connected to animals. I knew it early, found my calling when I was a kid. Fighting for the animals is my life’s mission. Animals keep me grounded and happy. There is so much cruelty, abuse and abandonment going on, It’s heart-breaking and I decided to do something about it, not just words or excuses....I am a “take action” type of person. So I founded and run an animal Shelter where animals live free and happy. There are no cages.

    Come and help me care for the animals I rescue from the streets.
    Animals are amazing. It is a lot of work, but definitely a rewarding way of living, It is their planet too, we have to learn to co-exist with nature and the wildlife.

    What I need from you

    I need volunteers who are animal lovers (both cats and dogs) and are comfortable with basic outdoor and farm work. Vegetarian/ vegan is preferred.

    I am looking for physically strong people that wants to roll up sleeves and get dirty, people who enjoy being outside and do things with their hands and love contact with nature. Looking for people that have experience in outdoor work, gardening, organic farming and carpentry or other DIY projects. Previous experience in a shelter or farm is a plus. and this is because this work is very hard, and physically challenging - thank you for your understanding

    IMPORTANT: This is a basic workaway stay; one of the current objectives is to make the place more liveable so we can accept future volunteers and even create a teaching space. But at the moment it is rough and ready. The house is not always the cleanest due to the amount of work there is to do and some of the cats and dogs have free reign of the house in the evening.

    You will need to keep an open-mind, be resilient and be respectful of the animals and the current circumstances of the project where animals and humans are sharing indoor and outdoor spaces. You room can be off limits to the animals if you desire.

    If you are comfortable with:

    - A simple, minimalistic lifestyle
    - Being out of your comfort zone
    - Doing outdoor chores
    - An outdoor shower and basic compost toilet?
    - Basic accommodation – a simple mattress in your room and good WIFI?
    - Chilling in the house in the evenings with the cats and dogs?
    - Sharing a table with cats as we all eat dinner?
    - Are you okay with farm noises and dogs barking at night?
    - Able to wake up early (6.30am M-F) and be punctual when arriving at the project?

    Then we will get along just great and the project will be a good fit for you.

    IMPORTANT: When submitting your application of interest to me please send your Whatsapp number so we can organise a video chat to discuss the next steps. I reply to all applications within 48 hours where a whatsapp number is included.

    I am asking for no more than 15 hours help a week (3 hours, 5 days).


    About the Area

    Volunteer near gorgeous woodland walks and enjoy the company of dogs, cats; & squirrels rescued from the streets.


    The super-chilled site is surrounded by woodland where you can catch a glimpse of squirrels, sparrow hawks and glow-worms. You can always stroll down to the town nearby or explore the rather lively city of México. At night you have spectacular glowing views of the city from the top of the farm. Watch wildlife that isn’t a fox or pigeon.

    It’s advisable not to leave the property after 6pm due to security and safety issues. Volunteers can visit the city one weekend and then on the next explore the natural park areas and nature of Ajusco.

    The property is a 3 acre farm +/- 20.000 m2.

    About the work with animals at the farm
    ----------------------------------------------------------

    I currently need help in 7 projects that I do:

    1. Housekeeping/ cleaning The Farm - daily basis
    2. Making compost - daily basis
    3. Animal feeding and cleaning - daily basis .
    4. Bio-construction & Farm Renovation- . Looking for carpenters and people with bio-construction skills (bamboo, wood, palm trees etc)
    5.. Gardening and forestry - all year round.
    6. There are also openings for those who are interested in managing our social media channels and creating videos. Also we have opportunities to decorate with graffiti, murals and paints
    7. Yoga retreat. We also have openings for yoga instructors to use our farm as a yoga retreat. We can run outdoor/indoor yoga workshops. If you have skills please get in touch.

    The working day starts at 6:30am to 9:30am. I expect volunteers to rise at 6am ready for work at 6:30.


    I am really grateful to you for reading my profile page. I am accepting volunteers from the ages of 18 and older. I can accept also couples, usually I have one or two volunteers at a time. Thank you so much.

    Winter is very cold - summer is very rainy and hot, think twice before you write to me :)

    I also want to mention that there are squirrels in the farm. They are harmless, but they are big!!


    ACCOMMODATION. (UPDATED)

    - Indoor bathroom with hot shower and brand-new flushing toilet (NEW)
    - Amazing rooftop with spectacular panoramic views of the city (NEW)
    - Simple private room included which has a mattress, good WIFI and electricity.
    - Basic outdoor compost toilet (100% eco-friendly) and nice outdoor shower.
    - Well water for drinking and washing hands.
    - Camping is available (tents and hammocks included), farm lodging

    Food is not included. Volunteers are responsible for their own food expenses. They can cook and use the kitchen and common areas.


    The site is surrounded by stonewall; surveillance cameras and trained dogs.


    RECAP

    Please read well my profile before writing: this is no vacation in Cancun beach, this is hard work in pure contact with nature.
    Not for the faint-hearted.
    This project is all about helping animals. Please put your needs and your comfort behind for starters, won’t hurt, it is called unconditional love. Compassion and altruism should move the world and not indifference, ego-driven narcissism, materialism and selfishness. The idea that some lives matter less is the root of all injustice. Animal lives matter too.

    I am an outdoor person. Love being out in the fresh air...waking my dogs or just going for a nice long Sunday trek somewhere.

    Also, i need Ito add that I have lots of animals....so you MUST love animals....if you are not a TRUE animal lover ....then definitely my project is not the one for you.


    All I am asking from you is to keep an open attitude and try to learn from this lifestyle. Be prepared to be out-f-your-comfort-zone. I live a simple life. A farmer life, an off-grid life. I put others before self. It is natural. Animals and the planet always come first. There is life outside the system :)

    Don’t forget: Altruism is always more important than tourism. Give back to others and helping is the meaning of life.

    Sinplicity is the beauty of life.
    Thank you so much.
    Stay safe!! 💚

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn first hand experience with animal rescue, eco living and sustainable life in a farm.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Volunteers who want hands on experience caring for animals in an organic landscape. I accept people all over the world with a taste for permaculture, bio-construction, veganism and eco living in a sustainable farm.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Open to sharing languages and cultural exchange

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private room included
    Basic bathroom available (shared)
    We have both a flushing toilet and a hot shower (indoor) and a composting toilet 100% eco-friendly and outdoor shower. For those of you who are really nature lovers you have the possibility of camping in the property. Tents and hammocks are included as well, farm lodging.

    We also have an amazing rooftop with spectacular views of city of Mexico.

    Food is not included. Volunteers are responsible for their own food expenses. They can cook and use the kitchen and common areas.

    I am asking for no more than 15 hours help a week (3 hours, 5 days).

    Thank you so much.
    💚

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Help only 3 hours/ day and the rest of your time enjoy the peaceful life at the farm. For those of you who want to go to the lively city of Mexico, we can plan a visit one weekend. There is Public transportation available from the farm. City buses are coming and going every 20 minutes. Near the farm there are natural park areas and on sundays nearby there is a local market (veggies and farm food).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes. The farm have good broadband connection 247.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Can host vans and campers almost of any size as there is plenty of parking space outside the farm.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets are allowed as long as they are 100 % cat-friendly.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    15 hours/week- no food



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 144444466897