Help us minimalize the house and spend time with my gifted 7-year old son in Giethoorn, Netherlands

Country

Niederlande

aktualisiert  

Bisher 59 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    PLEASE COME HELP US OUT!

    We're an unconventional but loving hippie 2p-family in need of support. My 7 year old son JAKE has got the cognitive skills of a highschooler and has strong motoric skills as well, but as most gifted kids struggle with, he has a difficult time connecting with other children. He needs someone who can be his friend, challenge him with his creative capacities & who can feed his curiousities. Last schoolyear he finally started in the advanced program, which did do him some good.

    ABOUT JAKE

    Jake is a sweet, caring and energetic boy who has the heart of an explorer. He is interested in a lot of things, currently mostly occupied with Legos and Minecraft, but Dinosaurs & Monsters are currently his absolute favourite subject. Talking about physics and chemistry, and reading is something we often do together, but it would be awesome if he could draw and paint more, or do other arts and crafts (supplies are already in the house available).
    Other options could be to finally learn to play the keyboard that he got for his birthday, teach him a skill ÝOU are good at, or for instance, play badminton outside.

    Jake is able to speak English and Dutch, thanks to our awesome first WorkAwayer Rudy! English is his second language, and we would love for you to speak English with him as much as you can. Other language practise is welcome too, anything to keep him challenged, but it is important to have one solid language to connect with, because he will manipulate the 'I do not understand what you are saying' in his own advantage if you're not careful.

    He is also very interested in combat sports (read; wants to become a ninja), and we do talk a lot about respecting nature, climate change, and other moral issues such as refugee crisis and white privilege. If you have any skills, stories or fun thoughts about 'How to challenge a SmartyPants' feel free to try :) The general idea you should get is, that he just needs an emotional steady friend who can challenge him with patience and humor.

    ABOUT ME

    I am a 31 year old single Mother, on a mission to pack up our things and move abroad. I am preparing an online start-up and work from home. I am also a vegan (at least, I usually only cook vegan - but Jake every now and then wants to break the pattern, and quite frankly I am completely fine with that). I am also a bit of a nerd, a major bookwurm and I love puns, talking about ideas, philosophies, history, cultures, emotional intelligence & family patterns. Digital communication and small talk are not my strong suits. I also love spending time in Nature <3 Currently I am celibate and embracing the freedom of time for myself. The only new relationships I make are friendships, because I know a lot of traveling & moving is in our future. We live in a cute little town on the countryside, the Nature here is stunning, but the locals are a bit closed, so we do live pretty isolated. I do tend to need some time for my work and thoughts, so even though I am a lot at home, you'll have enough time for yourself

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am no teacher, but as an aspiring writer, I have learned how to be a good listener and bring an open mind to any story or problem. In case you want to start a company I can logically explain the double entry bookkeeping system, but personal finance in general is also a field I understand well. Wherever you are on your path of life, I am sure I can help you with something as well.

    We have a lot of warmth to give, and hope you feel like home in no-time. We value authenticity and new perspectives and opinions. Don't worry about being a guest and not allowed to grab things out of the kitchen, you're an immediate family member as soon as you walk in the house. We practise Mi Casa Su Casa, if you want to keep something for yourself you'll have to hide it in your room haha ;)

    We have a keyboard and guitar in the house if you're musical, and a shed full of tools in case you need to repair anything.
    Oh, and before I forget, if you like reading, I have quite an excessive library of English/Dutch books, (and even more e-books if you're into that) mostly non-fiction and classical literature. But I also have a small international library, with some French, German, Spanish and Portuguese books.

    You can stream Netflix, watch some of my downloads, listen to audiobooks on your own laptop upstairs if you don't want to hang out, use your own bike to cycle around the National Parks or attend something fun you found on MeetUp (also, traveling with a bike in the train cost only € 7.50, and you can make way more of your citytrips if you're on a bike) or hang out with us in the library/lounge, kitchen or garden.

    The front garden is just big enough to sit and read, but always has sun and people walking by. The backyard has a small fruit garden and lots of birds, and lots of shade for the hotter days, and lots of privacy. The gardens are also a good place to smoke in case you have that need.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    WHAT WE WOULD ASK FROM YOU

    WEEKDAYS
    - Challenge Jake with activities (majority of your working hours)
    - Take care of the garbage if necesary
    - Help me minimalize the house / Preparing the movie
    FROM ANYTHING THAT WE MINIMALIZE BY SELLING, YOU CAN KEEP 10% OF THE PROFIT AS A WAY OF SAYING THANKS

    The morning & evening routine, the laundry, cooking and house-cleaning are my job.
    You only need to take care of your own room.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    If I find the time, I would love to spend time in 2022 learning German and Arabic.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    WHAT OUR ACCOMMODATION HAS TO OFFER YOU

    Our house is very comfortable, it has large rooms and should (hopefully) feel as a home to anyone who enters. Mi Casa Su Casa is very important to us, because we're lucky to be born into a rich country, and being aware of it, we love to share it with as many cultures and friendly travelers as possible. Laundry and dishes are done by machines :)

    Downstairs is where Jake and I both live, but as long as you return objects back in it's original place, there aren't a lot of houserules to learn there. Don't worry, upstairs is for you to decide how you want to live :)

    Upstairs we have two guest-rooms; the Familyroom & the Digital Nomad Room.
    - The Family room is intended for passing CouchSurfers or for friends who sleep over, or, ofcourse, for kids of WorkAwayers. The Family Room also holds the play room and a crib in case of visiting babies & kids. Jake also plays here, but only in company of an adult who makes him tidy the toys afterwards.
    - The Digital Nomad Room will be yours, with a 2p bed, a large desk and your own fridge, waterboiler and coffeemaker. Even though your room is set up for working there as much as you can without having to walk down, water access and a bathroom are downstairs and shared. Internet is good and 24/7 available.

    Days in the house (especially in the winter) are usually spend behind screens. Jake spends lots of hours behind the PlayStation, and I a lot behind my work-desk. If you are judgemental of this, our place is not the right environment xD
    We do like to play boardgames, or watch something together, and in spring/summer we could do some fun activities. Winter and fall however, is time inside, mostly behind screens or inside of a book.

    You can use your own bike to get yourself around, and since we're in the middle of the Netherlands nothing is 'really far away' so a lot for you to explore in your free time. We live inbetween two National Parks and love to cycle there ourselves as well. If you like campingtrips, we might have some spare gear for you to make your weekends off extra special with.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    - Visit the cultural capital of Europe; Leeuwarden,
    - Explore student-city Groningen,
    - Walk & cycle through the many National Parks in the neighbourhood,
    - Visit Hanzesteden Zwolle, Hattem, Zuthpen et cetera.

    Don't forget to walk often in the magical Giethoorn, it has a special vibe if you get up early and walk 'Het Binnenpad' when there aren't any tourists yet. Go to Amsterdam! See Europes biggest harbor in Rotterdam, or cross the borders into our neighbouring countries like Germany, Britain, Scotland, Belgium, and also, not very far away by train or Flixbus: France, Spain, Luxembourg, well, you know the map ...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Upstairs you will have your own room, with a 2p bed, a large desk and your own fridge, waterboiler and coffeemaker. Even though your room is set up for working there as much as you can without having to walk down, water access and a bathroom are downstairs and shared. Internet is good and 24/7 available.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There are two large parking area, one in front of the house, and one on the side of the house. Parking is free :)

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Our dog Pepper is almost 13 years old, but he's still curious and in a good mood. (He also always begs for either food, playtime or a walk and is good with cats) - Jake would love to have more animals in the house, but since I am focused on world-travel as soon as we can, I don't want to adopt any more pets. They are always welcome though ;)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 136941798376