Discover life on small farm in the beautiful Yukon Territory, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 77 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small but growing farm in the beautiful Yukon Territory, Canada. We have laying chickens, sheep, Alpacas, horses and a few sled dogs and house dogs. Plus we get meat chickens in summer. We sell eggs, meat birds and lambs. I also can vegetables and do baking in fall for sale at winter markets. Work here would include taking care of animals, cleaning coops and corrals, etc, gardening, fencing, building, canning, clearing etc. We could provide a semi furnished wall tent or camper to live in depending on season plus most meals. Or bring your own motor home or camper as we have room to park and possibly electrical hookup. If you enjoy the outdoors and the farm life and have some experience with animals and/or gardening etc then this might be right for you. Our farm is about 45 minutes from whitehorse so if you have a vehicle or valid drivers licence that is good in Canada that's a bonus as I only go to town once a week. Also it's not all about work! There's great fishing nearby including possibly icefishing, fishing, hunting with us in season, plenty of trails and mountains to hike. We have quads, skidoo, bycicles, canoe and kayak to use as Well! In the winter we have a cozy wall tent with a good wood stove and lots of wood to stay in.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn how we farm in the winter months as well as summer. We get our own water for the house and for animals. Go hunting or fishing both summer and winter, in season. Learn about raising your own meat, eggs, vegetables and milking a sheep (I am going to learn this one this summer) in the Yukon.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help would include everything mentioned above plus whatever may be required to keep the farm, garden/greenhouse and animals and so on running smoothly. These will differ depending on the season.
    PLEASE NOTE: there is often heavy work involved including packing bags of feed, chopping trees/wood, building fences or shelters, tearing down etc. Plus mucking out chicken coops and moving dirt, clearing brush, and so on. So you need to be healthy and in good shape.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and some German

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a semi furnished wall tent that is useable year round. The floor is insulated and there is a good wood stove in it with plenty of wood already cut or cut your own. It is very warm and cozy. An outhouse is nearby. We would provide food for brunches and prepare dinner in the house. Snacks, specialty foods and alcohol would be your responsibility. Although I could accommodate a vegetarian, we are meat eaters and meals generally include meat, either from our own or a local farm or from hunting or fishing. We could accept singles or couples. Summers and warm months we would have more room as we have a camper and tents and possibly a motor home as well (not good in winter months) and they can be set up very privately. We do value our privacy so would encourage you to go for after dinner walks or read or whatever in your accommodations after dinner. There are other workaway or volunteers in the subdivision typically so visiting is encouraged as well. You never know who you might meet!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is lots to do if you are an avid hiker, biker, climber or just want to sight see. In Whitehorse, which is 45 minutes away, there are museums, library, shopping, pubs, restaurants etc. to explore. There are many mushers up here if you want to try your hand at that. And I have 4 old sled dogs that could use some exercise as well. If you like ice fishing and fishing in summer, there are several terrific lakes within an hour or so from our farm. We live simply at our farm going to town mostly just once a week, we have internet so you can stay in touch. We are in a small community that is friendly but mostly keeps to themselves.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week depending on the season. There is more work during the spring summer and fall than winter

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 631373992793