Help out with Spring Garden and small Food Farm---Experience Life in Alberta, Canada!

Country

Kanada

Bisher 66 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.02.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    368

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Looking for a down home family food farm style work experience??? I am currently searching for help from right now and on through the year of 2019! I would be so happy to have year round help, and would be delighted to have a sturdy dependable person or persons sign in to stay a month or 2 during spring, summer and fall. It would be a pleasure to share my workload with responsible, hardworking and motivated teens or adult females. My husband is away working a lot, so we are offering a family position to someone who knows or wants to learn the old-fashioned art of homemaking, a lively, confident companion (who doesn’t need to sit still for too long) willing to step alongside Mom and 4 lively kids and do whatever needs doing to keep the children happy, home clean and functioning, garden weeded, producing and preserved, and the yard well groomed! I am interested in help right now, on a year round basis for the present! We offer free room and board in exchange for your good help, local rides, sightseeing, and all our social life you are welcome to join, in an English speaking environment. The country spot that we call home has a small lake near, our rural community of Stoney Lake, which offers a July rodeo we always help host and have fun attending. We live between two small rural towns, St Paul and Elk Point, and the nearest city you could fly in to or out of, is Edmonton, two hours away, We are happy to pick you up from there and drive you back! Our lovely green pasture grass hills are home to grazing animals and our happy pets are a farm dog and some barnyard cats. The gardens need planting, then yield their bounty which calls for more hands on deck. Farm work is less during the cold winter here, but we stay busy driving the children to all the sports practice and games.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn about rural life, small town communities, English and French spoken near here, quiet countrysides, wide open spaces to explore, how to grow your own food and preserve it, The Ancient Art of Fermentation, check into the dedicated hockey background of these small towns where NHL players were raised, watch hockey games for all ages, take in local events, rodeos, dances, and, rural home concerts, one of my favorite parts of culture that comes to us! We will be happy to provide some rides for you if you want to sight-see or go out a bit on your own. If you have a drivers license legal here, we can look into a vehicle you may borrow occasionally.
    I also have a friend who loves hiking near and in the Rocky Mountains of Southern Alberta who has offered to take any interested workawayers with him on these mountain hiking trips! That should prove to be an exhilarating outing for anyone who wants to see the great Rocky Mountains! Do note, I live 5 hours from the Rocky Mountains, you can't see them from here! We do have a sister who lives very near them and may arrange to take you along to visit there if suitable, as long as you are able to pay your expenses for the sightseeing you are interested in.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am hoping to have one or two good friends who can share a bedroom and join our family to help me out year round right now. The busiest time of year here is April through October; Garden prep and planting starts in May, yard work all summer, with September and October being the months to harvest the garden and get ready for an Alberta winter. I would love to have someone to help store in the veggies! Still there are many other jobs and projects we could catch up on, if we had good help we'd plan to get them accomplished. I would benefit from a strong, able-bodied helper, (or two, if you have a good friend to accompany you, eg: two girls, mother/daughter) who will assist me or work well alone after being oriented to task. Anyone interested in growing your own food, living clean and toxin free, and depending more on our own homesteading skills and less on world systems to survive and thrive may like this experience! I do especially want to benefit from anyone who would love to share their own cooking culture and take responsibility for helping with meals and cooking! I rarely get breaks from the kitchen work and would love to share that with a creative cook!
    Tasks include: housekeeping, on a deep clean level and all basic maintenance, baking, meal prep and cooking, kitchen clean-up, planting, weeding, harvesting garden, veggie prep, (You get to assist and learn the awesome art of fermentation!) riding lawn mower, edging, trimming, transplanting trees, child supervision on occasion.
    We have lots of daylight hours here and so work most days about 9 AM -6 PM. The work load is sometimes inconsistent, we use downtime for our breaks from hard work. If we keep up well with the immediate needs of survival here, we take these breaks whenever they present themselves, and frequently enjoy some hot dog roasts and campfire singing with friends, watch some hockey games, volunteer at the local arena, take in an event at Stoney Lake, or just work in the garden, (I call that relaxing!)
    As a family we love to eat together and make our meals from scratch, with real food ingredients! We are foodies, and enjoy time in the kitchen baking, cooking, and fermenting, and so clean-up opportunities are ever present! You would be welcomed in our kitchen to enjoy our traditionally balanced diet of meats, veggies, fruits and ferments, many of which we grow and preserve right here ourselves. We would love it if you would want to cook your favorite dishes for us too! We have committed to providing the greater part of our food supply. My study of nutrition led me to be most passionate about fermenting many foods for the best beneficial nutrition! I do offer my beloved ferments for sale, including authentic Sourdough Breads, so lots of our work and food prep centers around the small home business I maintain. I also share and teach friends in my community to make their own ferments. They're so needed for health and so well loved by many who have never had a taste before! I love helping hands to prepare many gallons of veggies for fermenting, which makes them a years supply of good gut-building and tasty side dishes, and I love to share these wonderful cultured foods with all who want to benefit from them to build their health!
    It's true, work on a small food farm is never finished, but, we can quit work when we decide to take an outing! ......and having four children is at times exhausting! I will appreciate some help to divide this workload and hope that a workload shared is a workload halved! We will not overwork ourselves and as stated, we offer the outings we can find as breaks from our normal work! With some good workaway help, I would like to take on a milk cow and a horse for the kids to ride and learn to take care of!
    My daughter loves art and would soak up any projects or instruction you may be able to share with her! We all love music, and I love singing and dancing, so any music lessons or dance instruction you have to share with us would be welcomed as well! I've always had a secret hankering to learn Spanish! Our boys play hockey and our daughter is going to try a new pastime this year so we will also be driving them to their practice and games.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English at home, some French in areas close

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We share well, (we think!) in a family environment, living in a moderate 5 bedroom, 2 bath house, so our in-home all-to-yourself 2 windowed guest room, with king bed, and a shared bath, is our offer of comfort for you! We offer an RV plug-in for someone who wants to bring their own accommodations. You are welcome to use our laundry facilities whenever needed. You would be welcomed in our kitchen to cook, help, and enjoy our traditional diet of meat, veggies, fruits and ferments, many of which we grow and preserve right here ourselves. As a family, we eat meals together, and make 3-5 dish meals we all enjoy! Family rule: Everyone eats what is served!
    With planning, I will be available to pick you up and bring you back to bus from Elk Point or plane in Edmonton, if and when needed. I may also have friends who would do this for us on occasion.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are looking forward to more experiences of opening our home to Workawayers! We had one student visit last year, a German girl who stayed a month in fall. She was a very amiable, much needed helper, and we all enjoyed her as an addition to our family while she stayed. We have lately had a girl from UK, and 4 girls from France, all whom we loved as part of our family team and enjoyed so much the time they gave us! We love the philosophy of sharing life in community and working as a team for the benefit of all! We love confident, opportunists that are adventurous or outgoing in spirit and open to sharing their skills and best qualities with our family, hoping they benefit in the same way from our interaction with them! Please do feel free to message me as soon as possible, We would welcome a visit from You!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The Garden




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 134175994615