Help out on a small hobby farm with huskies in Chipman, Alberta, Canada



Bisher 174 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    Update: Long-term workawayers are heading back home in June and doing some travelling before they go. Looking for workawayers who are interested in a long-term stay (from spring/summer through the winter) and also possibility to do summer only.

    I have 80 acres approximately an hour east of Edmonton and have been creating a small hobby farm over the last couple of years. I also have 11 siberian husky sled dogs, mostly rescues who have been with me for about six years.

    The farm is home to the 12 huskies, about 30 sheep, 1 pot bellied pig, 30 or so chickens and some turkeys at the moment, as well as two cats and an Akbash sheep dog who wandered in one day last year and decided to live here and guard the sheep.

    I am ideally looking for 1 or 2 people or a couple to help out for an extended period, from April / May this year to Spring/Summer next year, however helping just over the summer and then a separate volunteer period for the winter period is also OK. I have had good experiences with my first volunteer, from Germany, who stayed 8 months, and my current volunteers, a Czech couple who are doing a full year. I would prefer extended stay so that the huskies get used to you and bond to you and you to them, but there is also opportunity for a couple of months over the summer time if you don't have availability for up to a year. There has been low snow in the last couple of years, so there may or may not be opportunities for dog sledding, but there is unlimited time to spend with the dogs. Probably chance to dogsled in BC at an event in January every year if conditions are good for snow.

    Looking for about four to five hours a day to cover feeding, cuddling and poop-cleaning the dogs and all of the other animals and doing odd jobs around the farm - more in summer and less in winter. Duck pond went in last year and looking to do a vegetable garden this summer as well as finish improvements on some of the animal buildings and landscape the yard after all the work last year.

    I work full time, mainly from home office on the farm, and head into downtown Edmonton once or twice a week, so am nealy always around if you have any questions or need help while you are here.

    You need to be ok with working outside in the cold during the winter, otherwise you just need to love animals and be comfortable taking responsibility for the routine of keeping the animals safe and happy.

    There is a nice basement with plenty of light and own rooms and tv, netflix and wifi so you have your privacy. Room and board provided and a bonus if you can stay long term.

    If you have clean driving history and an International Drivers licence you can be insured to drive one of the vehicles, so you will have transport while you are here.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Experience of living on a small working farm, enjoying the Alberta outdoors, getting experience of all aspects of animal care and exposure to long term commitment of caring for a sled dog team. Relaxed way of life, National Park is 15 minutes drive away.

  • Arbeit


    Feeding huskies twice a day. Lots of cuddles required before and after meals. Daily feed and watering for sheep and lambs, chickens and turkeys and pigs, stall clean outs about once a week. Help with gardening and a little bit of fencing, putting in a vegetable garden, clearing up the area around the duck pond, help incubating chicks and caring for newly hatched chickens, turkeys and ducks.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and German

  • Unterkunft


    Own room in separate area for volunteers.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Downtown Edmonton is an hour away, Elk Island National Park is 15 minutes drive away. If you have a clean driving history and International Drivers licence, there is a vehicle that volunteers can use on their time off. The first volunteer, long stay of 8 months, took the car for 10 days ski trip to Banff and Jasper with family from Germany in February. The current volunteers are taking the car for 3 weeks to travel round the US in spring. There is also lots of flexibility to work in sightseeing around caring for the animals. There will should soon have an additional kitchen in the volunteer area, so will be a mix of joint meals and cook for yourself.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Minimum 3 hours a day 7 days a week, maximum 4-5 hours a day in summer

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 123738848437