Help with home projects in an enchanting area in Salt Spring, Canada

Country

Kanada

aktualisiert  

Bisher 29 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.10.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Let us welcome you to Salt Spring Island, in beautiful British Columbia. Nature, art, music, organic farms, wineries, 3 provincial parks and a small caring community (just over 10,000 people) makes this an enchanting place to call your home with us... for a little while. We love to share the treasures of this island, and learn about the world through others. We count ourselves blessed to live so close to streams, lakes, mountains, dedicated farmers and have the ocean just down the street.

    I am a single mom with a vibrant life, who loves kids, animals and our friends. I have an enthusiastic 13 year old, a fun-loving dog and, until recently, we hosted exchange students from the local high school from both Germany and Vietnam. We've also fallen in love with some of our friend's workaway visitors (from the Netherlands and Costa Rica), and can't wait to welcome our own! :-)

    Our house is an updated 1907 house with lots of character and a growing small organic garden. We're nestled up against a beautiful forest, but we also have the benefit of being just a 5 minute walk to the sweet town of Ganges. We love the outdoors, shared meals together and spend time connecting with friends (often in nature). We are an early to bed, earlier to rise (but quiet in the morning) and while we do like activity, we also like our own peaceful space, too.

    Workaways who are considerate, tidy, clean, generous, fun and enjoy nature would be a great fit. I can also help to find you other paid work on island, if this should be something you'd like.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Most weekends we go for a hike and sometimes a quick swim/dunk on different parts of the island. We'd love to share our secret island gems with our new workaway friends. We love organic and vertical gardening practises, berry picking, good food, canning, and am told that we have big generous hearts and are strong communicators.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Some of the home DIY projects that are on our list are as follows:

    - Fix veranda wood railing and painting
    - Garden weeding
    - Building two new raised garden beds
    - Planting new fruit tree plantings (in the fall) and new garden beds
    - New pond
    - Painting inside walls and stair banister (nothing like fresh paint)
    - Organizing closets
    - Help cleaning finished garage and painting inside of it.
    - Papering lining inside drawers.
    - Caulking around tubs and window sills.
    - Light cleaning
    - Create a small garden fountain
    - Sew drapes and cushion covers

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are one of two rooms you'll stay in... in the main house. One with a double bed and view of the forest trees and another with two twin beds. Both have a closet and a shared bathroom with bathtub/shower combination. Dinners we enjoy making together that are mostly local and fresh whole healthy foods (note: making meals together would be in addition to your 4-5hrs), while breakfast and lunch we make on our own, or spontaneously together.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A forest park with trails and disk golf is right beside us, walk to the farmer's market, go to the ocean and enjoy the local shops. Enjoy visiting places like the Salt Spring Island Cheese Company, our 3 provincial parks, art galleries and wineries/cideries. There is a bus that'll take you to the ferry and you can easily do a day trip into Victoria, the capital of BC.

    I tend to be "early to bed early to rise" (as I often quietly work from home early in the mornings) and ask that it is quiet between 9pm-8am.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 117367939112