Volunteer with us in South West Australia.

Country

Australien

Bisher 102 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    December Update : Winter is almost over, the sun is warming up and we are looking forward to bar-barques outside; time to dust out the cobwebs! Learning new skills on your travels promotes growth and awareness. Guests will be able to assist with do projects outside and general garden duties.

    Stays up to 10 days are good or can be longer by negotiation. Hope to meet you soon.

    I live near a small country town of Darkan in Southern Western Australia, making permaculture garden beds to grow organic food as an expression of life style, not for commercial enterprise. so routine is varied and flexible. As a disable person (leg amputee), much of my day and work is spent in a wheelchair, (I get more done this way but after my travels through Asia and China, I'm back on my feet/foot again!) however this does not deter me from digging holes or constructing various projects.

    Travelers can expect to stay in a rural setting (sheep, wheat with forest not far away), own living area in large upstairs loft, semi self contained, access to satellite TV and wifi for internet. Assistance with house maintenance, gardening, mechanical or some building skills would be greatly appreciated. It is said I'm a good cook (but like to try other people's cooking), eat meat and vegetarian meals and love Asian cuisine of which I am willing to share in exchange for your help.

    Public transport is available via bus on Albany highway to an agreed pick up point. You will be in walking distant to town and have plenty of time to see the south west. I would welcome the opportunity to assist with transport to most areas so camping (I have a kayak) boating or fishing is a possibility!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Cultural exchanges of meals are welcome as a learning experience, I welcome the opportunity to discuss other places traveled by guests.

    In this rural settings guest will have the opportunity to learn new skills from a hands on perspective or with machines and tools usually to do with gardening or building.

    Guests would also have the opportunity to become familiar with Australian ways, cultural differences and learn some Australian and Aboriginal history from a local source.

    I have local, state and interstate tour pamphlets for guests to read and get an understanding of what our country has to offer during your travels. This includes local road, rail and interstate air transport information

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Shared work around the garden may include digging holes for planting, whippersnapper/mowing (not much), moving and storing items, some light building and constructing (eg; garden beds, retaining walls, shade house). All tools and machinery are available if you are confident and competent with their use. Volunteers are welcome to cook or share their cuisine and items needed for this will be included in the shopping. Personal, expensive or treat items will not be. Sometimes I just don't feel like cooking and expect guest to be able to prepare a light meal for themselves for breakfast or lunch and sometimes an evening meals.

    Small maintenance jobs around the house can be expected like cleaning gutters, or maybe bigger more interesting jobs like hanging a fence gate to concreting a pond! Anything is possible with a little help!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is a double and single beds in a large upstairs loft (two rooms), peaceful views from balcony, quiet surroundings, bird life and the occasional frog, (but there is usual sheep, cows and llamas next door!) Linen and bedding supplied. Electric Hot water system, due to water conditions, usage is kept to a minimum. Kitchen facilities have improved, bathroom still needs restoration, bathing is still acceptable. Octagonal, 2 story house design with large open plan spacious living area and pot belly stove.

    Social drinking and smoking is acceptable BYO, Prefer only one guest or a couple, at a time as I enjoy a peaceful environment.

    Washing machine is available for personal use and shared cleaning up after meals is expected. Simple healthy meals are to be expected or negotiated by work exchange. Vegan or vegetarian is also fine.

    Short or preferably longer stays would be welcome if suitable and mutual.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I would enjoy volunteers to be quiet minded, interested in nature and natural things, have at least a little sense of humor, be honest and trustworthy. Some willingness to communicate like talking or language exchange would be great. Occupationally expect to have time to themselves if I visit my daughter for a few days. Hard work is not expected but a willingness to participate and enjoy whatever events occur would be favorable. Day trips to interesting surrounding areas by car is possible (with a donation to fuel costs). Learning from other cultures and their way of life is a wonderful experience for me so far as I experienced from my travels.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3-4 hours (usually less)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 117281717362