1 / 4

Help at our windmill and land at the atlantic coast in central Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Bisher 204 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 20 Aug. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche



  • Beschreibung


    We have an old small windmill and a piece of land close to the Atlantic coast in central Portugal.
    It is a beautiful quiet and simple place with open view to the surroundings, placed a bit remote on the countryside. There are a couple of beaches and little villages 5 km from here and the biggest town is 13 Km away.
    As it is at the coast and placed on a higher windy place, the weather here is many times fresh and cooler than in inland.

    The windmill doesn't work anymore as a windmill anymore. The roof has been renovated years ago and the mill mechanism was taken out. With the help of workawayers we have been turning it to a lovely tiny house.
    But there is still (always) much to be done!
    It is my wish to keep this place an ecological retreat where nature is respected.
    This is an off grid place. There is no electricity and no tap water. We want to keep it with no use of those resources, but we need ideas and some skills to have some water and some light brought through renewable energy methods.
    We are looking for help from people that are willing to do some work with love and joy.
    If you have skills, good energy, love for nature and you would like to come, you will be very welcome! :)
    Thank you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will find a beautiful simple place here, if you love to be in nature.
    The windmill is located alone in the countryside and not in a town, so you will enjoy the quietness and the solitude of nature.
    At the beach close by you can take some lessons and learn how to surf, windsurf and kitesurf or just go for it if you are a surfer already! :)

    I speak Portuguese (mother language), English, German and Spanish, so we can gladly speak any of these languages.
    I look forward to meet new people and learn from each other, to exchange knowledges, have ideas and work together.

  • Arbeit


    If you are skilled with things regarding maintenance, building, carpentry, that is perfect.
    For this Spring we have some projects that we would like to do.
    The windmill needs a new roof. This is something more urgent.
    We also need to clean and paint the walls again.
    If we have help for it, we would like to do some wood structures between the trees, to be able to host a few people, as well as new compost toilets, a shower, and maybe an outside kitchen.

    If you know how to install renewable energy, that would be wonderful.
    We would like to install solar or even wind energy.
    It would be interesting to create a way of heating when it's cold, having a warm shower and isolating better the windmill.

    We also need rainwater harvesting systems to water the plants, and we need to find a better way of watering the little trees.

    In Autumn, if you enjoy gardening and have knowledge about plants and permaculture or agroforesty, you can give a good help, planting some little trees, making a living hedge, cleaning the land and cutting branches from the older trees.

    We have been having volunteers who help gladly everyday for around 4 hours, others who work only for 3 or 4 days in the week, to have more free time. As long as you are looking forward to help with the needs we have, that will be agreed between us when you get in contact.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    If you come with a car or van it will be perfect, as you can move around the area and be more independent. The next village is 5Km away going up and down a big hill. It can be made by bike or walking, but it is hardwork :)

    If you don't have a van yourself, depending on the availability, you might sleep inside the windmill, which is very small and very basic, but it is suitable for 1 to 2 persons. The other possibility is camping under the pine trees.

    We have a cistern that collects some rain water, that we only use for the plants, as there is no filter system. There is a public tap water circa 1Km away for drinking and cooking water.

    The dry toilet is a basic one, which must be kept clean and emptied by each user.
    There is a camping shower, for a refreshing shower outside.

    Remember: there is no electricity, no running water and no plug-in at the windmill. The staying here is off grid and basic. For warmer days it is very pleasant, but in the winter time it can be a bit rough :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your time off, you may want to walk or take a bike and go to one of the beaches for a swim or to do any kind of surf that you enjoy. They are located around 5km from the windmill.
    You might also go for walks in nature or visit the villages and towns close by.
    The windmill is placed a bit far from villages, but once you get there you can take a bus to arrive to the biggest towns.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Pets are welcome, as long as they are used to be in nature, behave calm and respect any wild animal who lives there :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours a day, 4 or 5 days a week, or less time if that's better for you and me

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 512732354211

Feedback (5)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Come and help on the land in the forest. Sierra da Estrella, Portugal
Spend time in a Portuguese family help us around the house and with my dog in Montemor o Novo, Portugal