House-sitter needed and learn about growing food and help in my house and garden in County Cork, Ireland

Country

Irland

aktualisiert  

Bisher 247 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.12.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    292

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are currently looking for a housesitter from Dec 2010 to Jan/Feb 2020. I am going on holidays from the middle of December until the middle of January. Would love to find someone to keep the fire lit and feed the chickens and cat. Not much work required.

    Cottage/wannabe smallholding with large garden/chicken run/polytunnel

    I've just moved into this wonderful property and am doing some renovations on the house. I am interested in applying as much permaculture principles as possible and making the place a beautiful respite for visitors. I try to live in an environmentally conscious way in relation to food, energy use, waste etc.

    I also grow and sell organic vegetable plants and herbs. This keeps me busy so the garden is getting a bit neglected and I would love some help to get it under control and producing more food. Help in the house would also be appreciated - cooking, decorating, painting, cleaning, woodwork etc.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I think a traveller interested in learning about growing food will benefit most from a visit as this is my main interest and what i can share most about. But I think we have all have something to learn from each other regardless out interests

    I like to go swimming, cycling and foraging whenever I get the chance. I'm happy to take helpers along, organise bikes for you to make your own trips and help you have a good time any way I can. Other activities in the area include kayaking, various music festivals, yoga classes, art exhibitions, visiting islands and plenty more.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Volunteer tasks would be 4 hours a day for 5 days of the week.
    There is a variety of help I need help with and it is quite flexible depending on the guests interests but gardening and help in the house (cooking, cleaning, painting) are the main activities.

    The cottage is a walking distance from the busy market town of Skibbereen, a few miles from the coast and beaches. I can provide a bicycle for exploring.

    I work 4 days a week with a company in the area who specialise in supplying organic farmers. Unfortunately, this means I'm not at home as much as I'd like and you'd need to be fairly independent and able to entertain yourself.

    Example of projects I need help with at the moment:
    - I take in rescue chickens from factory farms. Could expand this if I had help with fencing, housing etc.
    - Creating a nice outdoor shower
    - stocking fire wood for winter
    - decorating - making curtains, painting, decorating

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is a basic bedroom within the house. The cottage is open plan and bathrooms are shared so would not suit someone overly fond of their privacy. There are lots of animals around too.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 859968764278