Come grow with our small community on Lummi Island, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert  

Bisher 85 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 63 Tage

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello! We are Paul(52), Matt(24) and Cypress (1), dwellers and tenders of a beautiful 7 acre plot on Lummi Island. We are eco-minded and aspiring permaculturists with passions for food processing, harvesting, foraging, crafting, movement, dance, yoga, small footprints and strong community.

    *Update 9/30/21- We are currently not accepting any helpers and will not be until potentially next spring! Thanks for your interest and Happy Autumn!

    *Update 4/25/21- We just had our first workaway helper finish out her 3 week stay with us and oh what a beautiful connection! Springtime in full swing here and we were able to get some great work done in the gardens, orchards, communal spaces and truly made a wonderful new friend.*


    We most always have projects going on and are excited to continue cultivating food systems, curate a beautiful place to thrive for us and the next generation, and to live simply and mindfully. Here on our land one can immerse themselves in the wild and natural beauty of a thriving forest. Walking trails, meadows, scenic views, quiet forest nooks and bountiful foraging opportunities. All food grown and foraged on our land is for our own consumption and none is sold to the public. We have a studio space in the works which helpers are most welcome to use and we have hopes (covid dependent) of hosting small contact dance/movement/yoga gatherings this year.

    We are on the Northwest side of Lummi, a 7 minute drive (10 if you take it slow :)) from the ferry landing. Just a 5 minute boat ride to the mainland and from there a 25 minute drive will take you to Bellingham (full city with great grocery options, restaurants, parks, etc.). Here on the island there is a small market with basic essentials, a café, and a couple of produce farms. Carpooling to town for groceries and supplies may be available.
    The island has much to offer in the way of exploring; hiking trails, beach access, bicycle friendly.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Helpers can reap the rich benefits from living close to nature in a beautiful Northwest forest homestead setting with opportunities for solitude and self exploration, along with community gathering and kinship. Learning opportunities may include forest care, gardening, landscaping, basic construction, crafting, foraging.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are seeking 1 or 2 helpers (couples welcome) to fill a few potential roles here on the land. We are mostly seeking helpers with experience in food growing, gardening, permaculture, childcare, landscaping, house tending, light construction/building. This spring we have begun to extend our gardens and orchard/young food forest spaces, all of which need tending and love. Help us to implement systems and ideas that will produce food for generations. Help tend communal spaces and care for our little human. Help with building projects and forest care. Help us grow, establish and maintain our gardens and share in the harvest.
    These are not all requirements, and you will not be expected to perform them all, but eagerness to help with these ideas is preferred. 3 hours per day, 5 days a week is ideal for us, maximum of 15 hours per week. Helpers will have 2 days (of their choice) a week off to do as they please.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a few potential housing options for helpers. Dependent on the person/couple and their intentions and skills. Options for more conventional living (room in main house) and also a bit more rugged/outdoor setups (tent platform). Each with its own privacy. We are open to accommodating what feels good for you, let's talk about it! More help=cozier living.

    There is a conventional bathroom and shower but we prefer you feed our composting toilet if you're comfortable :)

    Food! We love food. Especially sharing food! Helpers can count on a wholesome communal dinner 2-3 times per week. We cannot currently commit to a daily meal, though other spontaneous shared meals amongst the land mates are likely to occur. Helpers will have access to kitchen space & food storage space. We ask that helpers supply their other meals of their own accord. Helpers also welcome to any food produced in the gardens and the abundance of wild nettles and seasonal berries here on our land.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    So much goodness to be experienced here on our land, on our island and the surrounding areas. Explore the forests and mountain and beaches here on the island. Bellingham is a lively city with a little bit of everything; a great farmers market, food co-op, bars/breweries, restaurants, public parks, lakes and access to scenic highways that lead to Mount Baker and the North Cascade mountain range.

    We strive to be mindful humans creating a place to thrive. We ask that helpers are tidy and mindful of resource and consumption. We believe in a core ownership of action and healthy sense of gratitude. Show us a strong helping ethic, integrity and also that know how to chilllll and live joyfully.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    we have car camping space available! also willing to discuss additional needs. we love a sense of self sufficiency.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 114364756389