Help with our self-catering holiday house and family in the middle of Keswick, Cumbria. UK

Favourited 1154 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


Contact Register


  • Description



    Hello there,
    we are looking for two wonderful Workaways to help us right in the centre of Keswick.

    My children and I are looking for conscientious, independent volunteers to help right in the heart of the English Lake District about 2 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick.

    We have about an acre of woodland, garden, river (with fishing rights) and vegetable garden. A dogs, cats, chickens, guinea-pigs & a rabbit. Jeronime a qualified and experienced EFL teacher and will naturally support your language development.

    Our house is ALWAYS a very busy. Jeronime is a busy single mum busy with 4 kids living at home and a business. Our family loves walking the Fells, sailing, climbing, mountain biking, kayaking, canoeing, camping, fishing & BBQs on the Lakeside....and the rain!

    Basically, if you can do it outdoors... you can do it in Keswick, the Adventure Capital of the UK.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Help


    Jeronime has rheumatoid arthritis which 'flares' up from time to time and makes her really exhausted. However, much of the time she's fine!

    We prefer WorkAways who are independent & conscientious and who would like to stay long term, this gives you more opportunity to make real friends, really become part of the community here in Keswick and means that my children aren't constantly saying 'hello' and 'goodbye'!

    We are really happy to be flexible regarding hours/days per week, however generally I need help on Fridays and Mondays.

    We are looking for help with the following:
    General maintenance
    Help with our animals am and pm...maybe dog walking
    Preparing the garden and vegetable garden for Spring
    Help keeping my own family house clean and tidy.

    Applicants need to be 21 years old or over to be included on our insurance.
    If you are applying from within the EU please ensure that you have a EU health card and make sure you have dental insurance as this is NOT covered by the NHS. We can help you apply for a National Insurance if you're planning on staying in the UK.
    If you are applying from outside the EU you must have an appropriate visa and health insurance in place.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some German, some Japanese & Arabic

  • Accommodation


    In return for your help we offer accommodation, food for your breakfast, lunch and snacks, evening meals with our family and a little pocket money.

    A small separate cottage with a living / sleeping room with double bunks (for two workaways), table, chairs and a wood-burning stove, there is a small kitchen, an electric shower room and internet. I'll teach you to use the wood-burner as its the main source of heat.

    Unless you are a couple, you will be sharing the Cottage with another WorkAway (although we have a little caravan is like an extra bedroom AND we often let WorkAways stay in our guest cottages if they are vacant). You'll need to be very tidy, clean and considerate.

    FOOD - the most important bit!
    Every week all you need to do is give me your shopping list and I'll buy everything you need for your breakfast and lunch.
    I try to accommodate most dietary needs however I can't promise. We are vegetarian so all the food I buy you will veggie plus fish; we also have our own hens for fresh eggs. I don't buy junk food or meat I'm afraid but I don't mind if you choose to and eat it in your own kitchen.

    We prefer it if you'd share evening meals with our family and sometimes coming with us on days out / to our friends houses. I love cooking and my kids and you will take it in turn to lay the table & clear up.

    We're happy to offer WorkAways pocket money of up to £20 per week towards evenings out (great pub quizzes in Keswick), the movies (we have a wonderful tiny cinema), the theatre, buses or to save.
    Family and Workaways are expected to help out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Keswick is a very welcoming community and if you make the effort you will make life-long friends here.

    There are many small community groups which are free to join and very welcoming to newcomers: theatre, street theatre, knitting, walking, climbing, chess, archery. We have bicycles, canoes, kayaks for you to borrow. The River Greta runs through our garden. Just 7 miles away is Scarfell, the highest mountain in England plus lots of other fantastic walks and climbs.

    We have a huge lake with a ferry service and a good local bus service. Penrith is only 20 minutes away and from there London is just 3 hours away and Edinburgh 2 hours. If you book tickets well in advance, a return to Edinburgh can be as cheap as £10!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living with us in one of the most important literary houses in the UK and we host many visiting professors, university departments and writers of English Romantic Literature. The Lake District is home to Beatrix Potter, Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Ruskin and many more. We are often visited by TV crews and writers..NHK Japan coming to film a poetry evening / U3A coming for afternoon tea, museum volunteers coming for a short tour, US university retreats....

    A great opportunity to really enjoy life in a classic Georgian English country house in the most beautiful part of England, improve your English and learn new skills that will be great for your CV.An opportunity to spend time with a busy, fun family. The best way to learn English is by using the language everyday. Jeronimé is a qualified and very experienced EFL teacher. We are always out and about enjoying life and are happy to have you jump in our old LandRover and come with us.

    Our family is big (7 children aged 24 - 9), however only four live here full time. The house is always full of people, children, friends and paying guests. All of our children play instruments: piano, violin, cello, guitar. We love mountain biking, canoeing, walking The Fells, art, watching movies together, cooking and basically love life!

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our place

Me and the kids
View back towards Keswick from Catbells
Half way round one of our favourite walks
A great walk just down the valley from where we live

Host ref number: 964952339343