Enjoy helping us out in Otago, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    224

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We would welcome a mature couple to help with some projects around the place. A mix of helping with the dogs, horses, sheep, chickens, DIY, landscaping, gardening and helping around the house, we treat you like family and expect the same in return, this isnt a clock in clock out environment and trust is hgh on our priorities. Horse and animal lovers are a must. Experience not highly essential but empathy is. Interacting with the horses offers a lot of learning experiences that will benefit any budding horseperson, they all have their quirks that you will learn so much from. Ideal for people wanting a career with animals or horses or if own your own and are missing them. We often have lots of equine medical challenges that you will learn from. We also have 2 lovely dogs that love walks and other animals too. So ideal for a couple. There is the option for you to take paid part time work in nearby city Dunedin, and we can between us ensure all the tasks here get done We expect to share the cooking we provide plenty of food and I to make awesome meals. While we generally eat vegan meals most days we also do have meals that are not. We are not strict vegans as it is a healthy eating choice not avoiding animal products lifestyle. We also tend to eat GF but cannot accodate coelliacs

    PLEASE BE AWARE You must be competent and experienced to be allowed to ride our horses, they are not school or trekking horses - they are ex-racehorses and can spook, shy, buck and bolt.
    We offer when possible the opportunity for people to learn and practice natural horsemanship, ride western style and ride our horses out on the beach and forest as well as in the arena (if we are comfortable you will be safe yourself and that our horses will be safe).

    We use different therapies on the horses and dogs so this is a great opportunity for people to learn them.

    We do expect our helpers to generally help around the house, garden and yards as required. We want really empathetic people working with our horses as we believe in our horses wanting to do what we want them to do because they want to do it rather than force/bully them to do it.

    .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is volunteer help not paid work. Most of our previous helpers have had a very flexible schedule with our helpers. Safety of you and our animals is a priority and we will only let experienced people who we have assessed ride the horses unsupervised. This is an opportunity to learn new life skills, enjoy the safety of a family environment and spend time with amazing animals with heaps of character.

  • Help

    Help

    This will include looking after the horses which includes feeding them, picking up poo, grooming, moving the electric fences around for grazing. Walks with the dogs. Looking after the chickens, checking the sheep. Some other tasks will include helping to clear areas that we are landscaping, planting trees around the arena, weeding and spraying the arena, helping build fences around it, painting fences, clearing branches, making horse jumps/cowboy challenge obstacles, weeding or spraying the driveway, raking the arena, cleaning the stables and pens, veg gardening, helping out generally with the jobs we all need to do around the house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    3 bedroom house, you will have a queen size double room overlooking the paddocks. We provide cereal, museli, eggs, oats for breakfast and you have 'respectful' access to the food in the cupboards to eat for lunch, we expect the leftovers to be eaten rather than wasted.

    While we provide food and in winter we make up cassoroles etc we expect our helpers to cook for themselves at lunchtime and eat like us only a light snack/meal in the evening as we only eat light meals and often not at all in the evening. We do cook friday evenings and weekends though. We have our own chickens so we usually have plenty of eggs and we grow salad and vegetables. We dont eat meat very much as we are predominantly vegan but will occasionally eat a steak, fish and such. Our animals including the sheep and chickens are pets so don't get eaten ever... We cannot cater for strict Vegans, Peanut Allergies, Coeliacs.

    We are on rainwater collection so water levels mist be monitored, so showers are not something you can expect to have daily, and certainly not before you go outside to work for the day as that is a waste of water lol...So we ask you to be respectful of that. Washing of clothes is one load per week on the economy cycle please. We stockpile the bedding as we have loads, and when we have had lots of rain and our tank is full we then put several loads through then. If we are really short on water we may give you the money and ask you to use the laundromat in the next town. Sorry but that is a fact of life living in the country in New Zealand.

    We have a gym treadmill, recumbent cycle, cross trainer. We have bicycles. We do have a spa that can be used respectfully at the weekend.

    This is a non smoking environment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is so much to see and do around here.
    There is a bus stop near the house to get to Dunedin our nearby city, we also have mountain bicycles and dependant on drivers license and experience and older than 25 we do allow the use of an automatic 4x4 car, but this is decided by us once we see how the helpers drive. There is a $500 (inexperienced drivers/those under 25) excess on top of the normal insurance excess of $500 that if the helper has an accident we expect them to pay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 4 hours a day, some days more some days less






Host ref number: 915795395959