Help needed renovating a neglected house in Mugla province, Turkey.

Country

Turkey

Favourited 258 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/12/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    973

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm looking for two different sorts of volunteers:

    Firstly:
    Know how to... dust... sweep and mop floors... polish windows...?
    Are you Conscientious?
    Persistent? Self-motivated but able to take instructions?
    Cleanliness is paramount.

    There's nothing very challenging about the work. It just has to be repeated and repeated...
    If you can focus on the task while distracted by some of the most beautiful scenery then you will fit right in.

    Or,
    Do you have specific skills?
    Woodworking? Carpentry or basic assembly.
    Basic handyman skills: installation of shower, light fittings, window blinds...

    In return, the food is home-cooked, delicious and plentiful.
    Accommodation is in private room (with shower and WC along the hall)

    Previously, we lived aboard a ketch, but we have now moved to a house on a farm near Fethiye.
    The house had been unoccupied for some time. If you have basic handyman skills... great! If not, you can help with the cleanıng.


    A couple will be welcome, one of you needs reasonably good spoken English. Please send me details of your specific skills as the cleaner role only requires one volunteer.
    Turkish volunteers very welcome as I need help learning your language!
    Amber is a 7-year old labradoodle. She came to Turkey with me. Currently, we are fostering and socialising a puppy. The dogs live in the house and have access everywhere except the guests' bedrooms.
    I am a non-smoker. There is no smoking in the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Help

    Help

    The house has been empty for some time and it is situated on a farm so there is always dust to clean up.
    There is also skilled work with wood. For painting and metalwork you will be working alongside me and instruction can be given.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am English and retired from teaching. I can provide more formal language lessons in addition to general conversation practice.
    This is a beautiful part of Turkey. Your work commitments can be arranged around trips to explore other regions of the country.
    Our nearest town is Fethiye but popular places nearby include: Kayakoy, Gemiler Island and Çaliş Plaji. From the otogar in Fethiye it is possible to catch buses to destinations all over Turkey. It is even possible to take a ferry to Greece.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Native English and learning Turkish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in private room (with shower and WC along the hall)

    Meals will be eaten together.
    I'm happy to offer meat-free dishes but Amber and I are omnivorous. If you have any specific requests please make them before arrival.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    These days, with the internet, you can research the areas which are of most interest to you personally. Just start with the place names I have listed.
    But, nature worshipper, water enthusiast, thrill seeker, or history buff... all are well catered for here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.












Host ref number: 844439912625