Kulturaustausch in Nepal

Country

Nepal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 1220 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    58  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.07.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    703

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Namaste everybody!

    My family and I welcome you to our home in the village of Changu Narayan, located about 20 km from Kathmandu. It's where I grew up and spent my life with my wife Menuka. We have three children, who are working and studying, and one granddaughter.

    We want people to stay with us so they can experience the authentic life of the village and discover the Nepali culture. We encourage you to get to know us and spend time with us! The longer you stay, the closer we become. You will live like a family member with us.

    With the help of former volunteers and villagers, we built an earthquake resistant extension to our home, including a music room where we will be able to share our culture through, and spent some nice moments.

    The fee you are giving will cover the cost of three meals a day and the accommodation.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    If you stay for a shorter period of time, you can experience a glance at the rural life of the village, as well as learning how to cook local food like dal bhat.
    Depending on the season you can have gardening experience, even on our rice fields.
    If you stay for a longer period of time (at least two weeks), you will be able to experience what it's like to be part of our Nepali family, learning our language, going to our celebrations, becoming known in the village and helping with our daily tasks.
    We are very excited to learn from you as well. As I always say, "The many people coming here is my way of travelling without going anywhere."

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The most important aspect about our workaway is the experience you are going to live as a part of our family, in a Nepali home. We would like some help with the daily tasks around the house. You can also be a part of our seasonal farming and comunity projects. We still need help with many projects, from the simplest to the most elaborate, as eventually build up a homestay, to provide us a consistant income to live with.
    As it is difficult for me to ask for help, it is appreciated if you are proactive.

    All the Projects are listed in a Book, created by former Volunteers.
    While you stay here, you can:

    - Help with the daily tasks, such as filling the water tank, helping in the kitchen and washing dishes.

    - Help me to manage our homestay, answer emails with me and teach me how to work with emails and internet in a better way, work on our Facebook page and other admintrastive work.

    - Help in the garden, weeding, digging all the ground, plant seeds, harvest etc. During many months of the year there is a lot of work in our garden.

    Our 3 long-term projects to support the village are:

    - Help villagers with construction projects or anything they may need (help me organize groups to do this, but you can also help villagers on your own)

    - Teach English at the school (you have to commit fully to this and stay at least 2 months)

    - Continue the waste management project, which just begin. There is more and more trashes, mostly plastic in the village and nothing to collect them and recycle them properly. So a project just started with a company to pick up wastes from the village and take them to a recycle centre, as well as a foundraiser to provide bins to the Village's houses and 3 containers for plastic, glass and organic wastes, to help them separate their trashes, and collect them.

    Every little help is appreciated, even the daily tasks, as working is getting more exhausting every year.

    You do not need any specific experience to work here, if you come to try and help, that is all we ask!

    If you want we can go on hikes or day trips. I was working as a Trekking guide back in the days and I know the area pretty well.

    To get here, you can catch a bus every hour from Kathmandu or Bhaktapur. The bus should cost about 50 rupees. If you want to take a taxi, it will cost around 1500 to 2000 rupees.

    If you have any questions, you can call me or send us an email, I'll answer it with pleasure !

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Nepali, Hindi, English and French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Usually you stay in a single room or in a room with your travel companion. We have WI-FI in the house, electricity and hot water.
    You can come with more people if you want, just request it by message before.

    We usually eat vegetarian, but on nights we can eat meat, cooked in a separate pan always.

    We eat three meals per day. For breakfast we eat roti and an egg, and sometimes pancakes. For lunch and dinner we eat dal bhat. First dal bhat is around 9:30-10 am and second dal bhat is at 7:30 pm. Those 3 meals are included, if you need to eat more in between (its usually enough), you can buy snacks/fruits in the village. Or you can tell us, and we'll happy to cook something.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Changu Narayan is an old village, 6 km from Bhaktapur, home of one of the oldest temple in Nepal, close to forest you can explore. We have a good view of Katmandu Valley from the house and the village, and you can enjoy a beautiful sunset, when the weather is good.

    My wife can teach you how to cook nepali food, like momo and dal bhat.

    With the help of volunteers, we were able to crowd fund solar panels for warm showers and wifi.

    You can also support local craftsman, which are happy to show you their art. You can discover many Nepali handcrafts in the village, handmade by locals.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Around 2 to 3 hours/5 days a week

  • ...

    Dieser Host verlangt Gebühren

    mehr dazu
    $5 per day contribution towards food costs
A volunteer helping to serve the dal bhat for dinner
Our beautiful temple.
Volunteers helping with the rice harvest.
Our neighbours!
Minuka cooking chapatis for breakfast.
Minuka, my wife, with one of our volunteers.
One of our guest rooms (this room has two beds and sleeps 3 people)
View over Kathmandu from Changu Narayan village.
This is me, Dhruba.
Our home. The guest areas are on the first floor and roof
Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.0)

Kommunikation: (4.3)






















































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 792463786792