Come and help us with our home, garden, and kids in the French Pyrenees, France

updated
Country

France

Favourited 222 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/03/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️*️️*️️Currently looking for individuals or couples who can help out the family for a few weeks (or longer if all goes well!) this winter/spring, with light household duties, cooking, childcare, and other projects *️️*️️*️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    We are a French-American family looking for energetic couples to help us out with various projects (renovations, painting, gardening, cooking, cleaning, shopping, and babysitting) around our old stone village house in Ariege, midi-Pyrenees. Our village is a mountain village of little more than 100 permanent residents, and our house provides superb views of Pyreneen mountain peaks. Any folks interested in staying with us must love children, cats, and chickens (we have 3 kids, 3 cats, and 4 chickens). We are looking for workawayers in the fall of 2018 and also into 2019. Things you should know about us: 1) we like to eat home-cooked meals with fresh organic veggies and fruits from our local farmer's market (mainly vegetarian), 2) we love hosting couples but prefer that each person can be independent when needed, 3) we ask that our workawayers also participate in our daily family lives (e.g. lending a hand when necessary), 4) a stay with us will not be a full immersion in french (although we all are fluent french speakers we make an effort to speak mainly English at home so that our kids will stay bilingual).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We know a lot about the history of our area, and speak both English and French at home.

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently looking for workawayers who can do various projects around the house and in our garden, and/or help with cooking, shopping, child care and light household duties. Folks who are willing to do and try anything are especially welcome! Prior experience or skills in building, gardening, or childcare is preferred although not necessary. If you know how to do any carpentry, electrical/electricity work, landscaping, or other specific skills we are definitely interested;)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, french, some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are happy to provide a separate bedroom and bathroom, plus all meals, for 25 hours of help per week.

    An interesting fact is that around the turn of the last century our house was owned by a local bear trainer, hence the name L'Ourssatero.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off, and weather permitting, there are plenty of beautiful hikes and bike rides (we have extra bikes) that leave from our village, and ski resorts within an hour drive. One of the most fantastic outdoor farmer's markets occurs every Saturday in nearby Saint Girons. There are also several Cathar castle ruins and medieval towns within an hour drive, as well as caves with prehistoric paintings.

    We have hosted helpers in the past.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25

Close-up of house
Lunch on terrace
Close up of our part of village and house












Host ref number: 759153557512