Help at a small organic chestnut farm in Cheongyang, South Korea

new host
Country

South Korea

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! Please, just call me 'Lee'. My family and I live in a small town known as Cheongyang, which is 2 hours south of Seoul. Many people within this town own farms; my family runs an organic chestnut farm. The planting of new trees and pruning time takes place from February to March. In the months following, we tend to the farm which includes watering the plants, cutting tall grass, and pulling bad weeds. We then harvest the chestnuts from the middle of September to the middle or end of October. During the winter, we mostly collect firewood and wait for the warmer weather.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will benefit from free accomodation, free food, and some Korean language learning if desired. Besides learning about the farming culture in Korea, travellers will also enjoy some of the many local cultural sites, museums, temples hikes, market trips, and possible beach trips as well.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required here is mostly regarding the gardening and farming needs as mentioned in the previous section (pruning trees; removing unwanted trees, weeds, and grass; planting new trees and crops; harvesting chestnuts and removing them from their shells; cutting firewood; etc.). Since this is an organic farm, we do not use chemicals for killing the plants. So, these jobs are all done manually with a shovel, hoe, rake, or with a machine such as a chainsaw. You will never need to operate a machine but should be able to use the other gardening/farming tools. There will rarely be heavy lifting involved and if you are not able to help with heavy lifting, there is no problem.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Korean, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In our home we have 2 extra rooms. One room has a private bathroom attached. The other room uses a shared bathroom. The sleeping area is on a padded surface on the floor. Blankets and pillows are provided and so are towels and laundry machine is available. Two meals are provided every day (lunch and dinner). For breakfast, you can prepare a meal for yourself in the kitchen. There is open access to the refrigerator and grocery items. But please let me know what you take so I will know what to buy at the grocery store.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus from Seoul or Busan to: Cheongyang Bus Terminal

    City bus which takes you into town is a 5 minute walk from my home.

    Local sights:
    Baekje Historical Museum
    Changkok Temple
    Chilgap Mountain
    Cheongyang Market
    and more...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 735451211681