Pioneer farming in Sooke, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️HELP NEEDED IMMEDIATELY!*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️

    HI! My family of 3 boys and I just moved to Sooke and are starting to farm by turning some forest into good grazing land! It's a massive undertaking and we are looking for good helpers with skills like building and fencing, or a willingness to learn! Our cows and pigs will help us with clearing the land while nourishing us with their milk and bringing young ones into the world! We raise milking cows, some beef animals, pigs and chickens. We use the meat from our cows and pigs, milk from our cows and eggs from our chickens in our home.
    We have hosted people from all over the world the last 7 years and we love the diversity of language and cultures.
    We work hard here and love it. I also work outside the home as a nurse, in a great job M-F full time days.
    It's busy and can be loud here with our large family but our farm helpers love it here. We are surrounded by nature and it's a great place to live if you like that! Beaches and provincial parks within walking distance, bikes and trails close to the house. We have some bikes and helmets to use.
    Duties include feeding and watering animals, milking the cows, building fences, moving animals, sometimes veterinary care of our animals, sorting animal food from the new program we are involved in, and pick up of animal feed. Construction and building skills are a bonus, if you have them! There are always things to do on the farm.
    We enjoy spending time with our farm helpers and doing fun things too!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning lots of farm husbandry and care of animals. Care and maintenance of milking cows, how to use fresh milk to make cheese and yogurt and other things.
    English practice
    Fun with our crazy family!

  • Help

    Help

    Please see above! I put it in my description of the place!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Stay in a camper, main trailer has other facilities. We are planning a building with a common area to share with washing, cooking and bathroom facilities. Until then, bathroom and shower in the main home.
    WiFi is provided of course.
    Cable TV and Netflix in the main area when you need some down time.
    Food is readily available and we encourage a sit down dinner with the family. Most people are independent with breakfast and lunch but sometimes we do a huge brunch style breakfast as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus service is not great here so I try to provide a ride into the major bus stops when I can. A 25-30min bus ride from there to downtown is possible but much is available within a 15 min drive from my home.
    So many things to see and do in the area it's impossible to list them all.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hrs/week per person



Host ref number: 649378892699