Cosy home in Tooting, South London with myself and my 3 furry mutts!

Favourited 178 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    18/06/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2018 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come stay in my cosy home in Tooting, South London (zone 3) with myself and my 3 furry mutts! (voted one of lonely planet's top 10 neighbourhoods in the world to live in!)

    I'm a 37 year old single, female professional working as a consultant in procurement and business transformation which can often lead to long hours.

    I have until recently been hosting a young refugee in my spare room but he is moving on to a new home and a new chapter in the uk so I now have some space to offer in my home for a workaway.

    I'm looking for someone reliable who can commit 5 hours daily and is interested in a genuine exchange of culture and skills. My current focus is on general dog and house care. Practical dog related skills are a must, and a willingness to learn some new skills. Preference will be given to volunteers who possess useful and needed skills (ideally experience training or working with dogs, volunteering with rescue animals, etc) and initiative.

    IMPORTANT: You must be at least 24 years old, have at least one positive Workaway review (previous Host feedback) and be able to commit to at least a month after an initial successful trial period of a week, please be sure to check our calendar before applying.

    We live on a quiet street with allotments at one end and easy transport links into central London at the other end. Within 2 minutes walk there are a number of little convenience stores and post office and a lovely little Portuguese shop which sells the best pasteis del nata and also very kindly sells meringues for me. (I make these as a little side business)

    I have three beautiful rescue dogs who love attention and cuddles as well as walks in the local parks and nature reserves and I'm looking for someone who can help out with the pet care, clean up after them and ensure they have a clear, fixed routine.

    Rupert is an 11 year old foxhound mix, who thinks he's a lot smaller than he really is and will try to sit on your lap. He loves the rain and the outdoors and running but is terrified of cars (he was abandoned by a motorway) and always pretends to be deaf when it's home time on walks.
    Abby is a 4 year old harrier beagle who will flop over on her back in front of you begging for tummy rubs and steal food if given half the chance. She's not a big fan of cold weather or rain but loves going off the lead in the allotments and if you have sausages (I always do), she will actually come back when you call her. She does get a bit nervous about food and doesn't like to share so we always give her her space when she's eating because she was starved and beaten before she came to me.
    Maddie is a 2 year old french pointer who runs faster than I've ever seen any object move, she is literally a blur off the lead and she comes back sometimes but also not at all if she finds a fox. Mentally she's a pup still so would benefit from consistency and a little sausage based training.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    I'm looking for someone reliable who can commit 5 hours daily taking care of the dogs and basic household chores. You must be awake for dog feeding time (7am), immediately clean up any over night accidents (this is very important), give the dogs time in the garden, tidy and clean up after them and then at the end of the day take them for all for walks and feed them again.

    Because of my work travel, I need someone who is able to help from Monday to Friday and willing to stay in the property overnight when I'm not here. I cannot consider workaways who plan to be away overnight and will not accept bringing guests back. Daytime guests are possible if pre agreed.

    The dogs will try to break the rules so you need to be someone who is confident, but gentle around medium and large dogs (they've all had a few nasty scares in their life before being rescued). They will also destroy furniture for attention if you ignore them when you're in the house. I definitely need someone who is happy to cuddle up with them on the sofa and watch tv or read a book when I'm not home, instead of staying in their room outside of the main work hours.

    There's a bit of housework required in relation to the dogs. This includes, daily mopping of the whole downstairs, changing and washing sofa covers, cleaning food bowls, putting away dog food deliveries and twice a week hoovering etc.

    If you are honest, full of energy and enthusiasm, over 24 years old, have at least one positive Workaway review (previous Host feedback), and have plenty of independence you will be welcome to help and learn (and teach) in this home.

    I will give priority to people who are able to volunteer for at least a month, but suggest that volunteers come for one week at first, then if it all works out we can negotiate the duration of the stay. You will need to be aged 24 or over, physically fit and we are happy to take either one or two single individuals or a couple.

    If you're interested in outdoors work and gardening, help with this would be amazing as the allotment plot I've just been given hasn't been touched for 20 years. The ultimate plan is to get the allotment cleared and a pallet fence up on 2 sides pretty quickly so the dogs can come down to the allotment with us while we plan out beds and crops and turn a bramble patch into a fun, beautiful and productive space.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm more than happy to help with English studies. We have a great local college only 10 minutes away by bus that does languages as well as art courses, vocational courses and all kinds of extras. The rest of the time is your own to explore our historic market and local area, all the wonders London has to offer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation offered is a small double room in a 3 bed mid terrace house on a quite cul de sac street with some really lovely neighbours. We have an eat in kitchen, living room with plenty of books (and dogs), a large rear patio garden and free parking on our street in front of the property.

    The bedroom is probably meant to be a single but I've managed to do some clever things with storage to fit in a double bed, chest of drawers and hanging wardrobe.

    Use of the communal bathroom and kitchen. Communal areas must be kept clean and tidy. Bedding and towels provided and use of the washing machine and dryer, we also have a fast broadband connection that you can connect to.

    I'm afraid I don't provide food or meals but you are welcome to buy your own food and to use the kitchen facilities to prepare your own meals on the condition that you keep it clean both as you're cooking, and thoroughly afterwards, so that others may enjoy using the kitchen either at the same time or later - I'm very strict about this - so please take note!

    The key here is negotiation, we can come to an agreement, put it into practice and then review it after a few days to check that we are all happy and remain happy with the reality of the arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The help I need is split across the day to line up with feeding times for the dogs. This is basically just over an hour around 7am in the morning, and then 3 hours from 5 to 8pm in the evening. As such I can only take workaways with part time study or work as meal times for the dogs cannot be moved.

    All workawayers must have experience with dogs to be considered, preferably rescues, though that's not essential and please note due to my dogs boisterous behaviour and our accommodation limitations, I am not able to consider families or couples.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 567128718741