Looking for people to help at holiday farm!! cooking, helping in the house,outdoor jobs, animal care, maintenance in Portugal

Favourited 163 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    25/09/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1713

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are João(Portugal) and Liesje (Belgium), we run a holiday farm with 3 apartments and a gipsy wagon in the center of Portugal. We have 9 horses, 6 dogs,2 cats and chickens,ducks all running around :)...We have a big farm and look for a couple or two friends who like to work outdoors. In summer we need people for watering the gardens, cleaning pools, guiding the horses with guests, cooking and do maintenance of gardens and surrounding of the farm(painting, weeding, cleaning horse stables or poop in the fields, feeding dogs, cats, chickens, horses....)The whole year we look for people willing to do hard work in the forest and on the land to cut wood, clean the forest and the fields, and many more outdoor jobs like maintenance of the farm...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    In summer:We are looking for people who come to help with maintenance of the 4 swimming pools, sometimes helping cleaning the guesthouses(we have a cleaning lady), watering the gardens and lawns, bringing garbage and recycling to the village, keep stables and área clean,helping with walking next to the horses when we have inexperienced riders,feeding horses ect...and cooking for the family(we are 2 and for the 2 helpers)those are the main things that need to be done in Summer..In spring autumn and winter: there are forest tasks (cleaning forest, pruning, cutting dead trees, bush cutting,collecting -cutting wood, ect)...weeding, seeding, painting, cleaning, preparing farm for guests, helping feeding the horses, brushing horses, planting, ect...There is no horse riding involved! We prefer 2 friends or couples. If you like nature and animals this is the place to be!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,Portuguese,Flemish(Dutch),French,a little Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Nice caravan on a private spot with electricity. You use the main house for breakfast and meals and bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    on your free days discover the neighborhood Celtic graves,beautiful spot at the river We prefer couples or 2 friends ! we live close(800m) to a little village and 10 km from 2 small towns. There is a lot to do in the weekends but we never go out :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You learn many skills that you can use later in life...you learn to live and love nature you can walk to the village and enjoy Português rural life...

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours work/day, 5 days a week we like enthusiasm :)

My Photo Album

helping to clean the land and river beds
helping seeding in late summer autumn
our little bar "cantinho de alegria" in summer time open for guests
beautiful sunsets at our farm
shepard in the village
mondego river at 8km
celtic graves in the village
our family
helping to paint
helping to clean the horsepoop
1 of the 5 pools to clean and also the pool where you can dive in when it is too hot or siesta time
1 of 5 the guesthouses
our cats kiko and cesar











Host ref number: 333759215661