Forest & native nursery in Nelson, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 206 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    35  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/06/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    144

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a 41 year-old single man and the proud owner of a rural property very close to Nelson's center where I have a native forest regrowth project and a native tree nursery. Everyday's work is about farming and planting duties and my injured spine makes it hard to maintain regular results.

    My father is a french citizen from the Geneva area, and I have lived 15 years in France. Having been on many trips over the years and in quite a few countries, I have a strong connection with travelers and enjoy sharing my knowledge on our land, its nature and its history.
    Caring and sharing are my two main personal values.
    I enjoy especially graphic arts and music, being a guitarist myself. Otherwise I am a solitary type, and spend nearly all of my time on the whenua.

    Work hard, play hard: there are a few fun things to do. There is a spa pool, that it used occasionally. Woofers can borrow bicycles to go to town, and two sea kayaks can also be taken down for the day.

    I have three very friendly doggos on the property (Pirate, Peanut and Lady), twenty sheep and six chooks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity for someone willing to learn about New Zealand's nature and Nelson's culture and history. Learn about our flora and fauna and the challenge of conservation by having hands on!
    I will gladly share what I also know in permaculture, biodynamics and eco-contruction.

  • Help

    Help

    This beautiful 23 ha. property of native forest and farm grazing needs your contribution! I need to make ends meet with the many tasks at hand.

    These include working with sheep, weeding, fencing, pest control, gardening, planting natives, bushwhacking, etc...

    You will be helping for food and accommodation: 4 hours per day, 4 days of work per week.
    A solid continental breakfast is provided every day.

    The length of your stay will be two weeks. Longer periods can be negotiated.

    I also prefer that the people that come and stay here are not internet-dependant :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent in English & French. Good basics in Italian, German and Te Reo.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a cozy and warm caravan with some of the best views around! Freshly renovated, it includes a fridge and a kitchenette, so you can enjoy your privacy with all the comfort needed. Wake up to the sound of bellbirds and tuis.

    Internet is available in the house that you are welcome to use one hour a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is 10 minutes drive from town and 25 minutes by bicycle - one is provided for the needs of the worker(s). If needed, I will gladly drive you to town for all of your basic needs. Nelson features many activities, and I also can offer occasional trips to the Marlborough sounds where I go fishing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day, 4 days a week






















Host ref number: 331327182112