Help with our small business. Tours and rentals in the Algarve, Portugal.

updated

Favourited 526 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    17/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 (Christin, Anton, Matthew and baby Josh, just 24 months old). We are trying to "keep the dream alive" of living in the Algarve and enjoying this beautiful and peaceful place.

    We have started a tourism business near Aljezur offering cottage accommodation, jeep tours/bike tours/walking tours and motorbike tours. We are therefore looking for help in various areas of our everyday lives and need people to apply for volunteering with us. Ideally volunteers will need to be around 21 years or older and pretty fit/healthy as we may need you to do manual work or join in on tours such as bicycle or walking. The age is important as you may be required to drive our car so we need experienced and careful drivers.
    Practical minded and a hard working ethic are highly regarded by us. Anyone that thinks they fit this bill and has experience with social media such as digital marketing as well we'd really like to hear from you as we want to run some campaigns etc to attract more clients for 2018.
    We are looking to take volunteers from end of March and the duration can be a long stay if mutually agreeable. If you are interested, drop us a line.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for volunteers to help us for the whole tourist season basically March through to September/Oct.
    As well as general house & garden maintenance, we hope volunteers can help us with the various daily tasks that arise from running our own company.
    We need the volunteers to be honest, outgoing and reliable, especially when it comes to looking after our sons and dealing with clients in the summer months.

    Here's just a selection of the possible tasks that we could as you to help US with

    - marketing campaigns incl, flyer drops, google ad words, facebook ads, improving SEO
    - cleaning houses and our own home
    - preparing our holiday houses for clients (ie bedding, linen, painting etc)
    - doing laundry or ironing
    - entertaining our son, e.g. doing arts & crafts with him
    - preparing, cleaning or fixing equipment such as surfboards/bicycles/motorbikes
    - watering/cutting plants/trees
    - grass cutting & weeding
    - power washing & painting walls
    - varnishing windows/ furniture
    - welcoming clients in the summer
    - small carpentry (e.g. sanding) or building jobs (scraping & filling walls)

    Ideally, you might have a mechanical/builders background or experience with bicycle maintenance/motorbike maintenance or with social media and marketing. Anyone who has experience or qualifications in child care will also be highly welcome.

    You will be asked to work independently as well as in a team with us. Once we have given you a task we expect you to be able to work independently.HOWEVER, we are always happy to help and answer questions if in doubt about any given task.
    We also need volunteers to be flexible regarding the working hours. Sometimes it is busier on weekends in which case you will have 2 weekdays off instead of the weekend.
    We think it's best for volunteers to stay at least 3 to 4 weeks, which will give you time to integrate. However, if we or you feel like things are not going as expected, we should be honest enough to raise the issue and try to resolve the situation.
    One very important aspect is the fact you could be dealing with customers face to face as we hire equipment from a large garage on our property. You will need to be courteous/honest (as you could be handling money) and diligent (as we need copies of client passports and have to send info to the Tourism of Portugal). This is our business and our livelihoods so you as a volunteer really need to understand that. You get the idea we need normal, honest, sensible people that have heaps of common sense.

    Some days (maybe that should be most days) can be a bit chaotic, having to juggle, tours/rentals and clients arriving with the school run and waiting for deliveries etc. A sense of "no worries" and a fair bit of flexibility in your approach to tasks will definitely be a bonus for us all.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a double berth caravan where you have privacy. It is on it's own plot of land but only 20m away from the house. It has an outside table and chairs/sun loungers and is nicely situated near a stream and under an oak tree. You can also use the guest bathroom in our house for showers and of course you would eat with us if you choose or take food down to the van. You are welcome to make it your own and if you desire some privacy just chill out at the van. We have wi-fi in the house so you can log on and stay in touch with your family/friends.

    Please be aware that we are living 6kms from Aljezur. There is a bus service to Aljezur and Lagos from here several times a day. We provide you with bicycles so you can explore the surrounding areas when you want to.
    We are happy to give you a lift to Aljezur, Lagos or the beach when we go there.

    At the end of the day we have put an awful lot of time and effort into starting this business and we have to continue putting in a lot of effort and work. We see it that volunteers are here to help us with our work but equally we do not exploit people. So far the volunteering experience has been a good one, for both parties.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We hope the workaway experience will be interesting for either side. We enjoy hearing traveller's stories and learning about different cultures & backgrounds.
    We offer a hands-on experience of a multi-lingual and multi-cultural family running a tourism business in the Western Algarve including all the challenges that cross our ways. If anyone says YES they agree to come and then decide at the last minute they are not, please, please, please be adult about it and let us know. Waiting at the bus stop for a non appearing volunteer is a massive waste of our time leaves us without the extra help we always need and is quite rude. (previous experience).
    Seeing volunteers making the most of this area by cycling, walking in the hills getting involved with tours etc really makes us so happy. It is a wonderful, calm, quiet, healthy environment and is a pleasure to explore around here, so go for it.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For most of the volunteers so far, enjoying the natural beauty of this area has been a major factor. We have incorporated volunteers into our tours and taken them on day trips to the beach, bar-b-q's on the beach, snorkelling etc. We do not do day trips everyday but when we can. We know a lot about this area and can recommend places to visit or travel to.
    My biggest request from you the volunteer is that if you say YES to coming and we book you in, then please realise it's a commitment. If you change your mind or just don't fancy coming PLEASE advise us in plenty of time to arrange another volunteer. Standing at the bus stop at 9pm waiting for a no show is a waste of my time and takes the opportunity away from another volunteer who would have been glad to come...That's it, moan over.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours, 5 out of 7 days

My Photo Album



















Host ref number: 326479563781