Smallholding in rural North Wales

Favourited 58 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    12/11/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    783

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a (small) smallholding in a very rural location in North Wales, on the edge of Snowdonia. The setting is delightful and secluded, yet the nearest small town is only 2 miles down the road. Our animals (dog, cats, chickens, bees, rare-breed sheep & pigs, donkeys) rule the place and our lives, so this is for animal lovers only!
    Our land is mainly pasture in two fields adjacent to the house, with a large garden with orchard & veg beds. There is also a working music studio on site which my partner runs.
    Our aim is to be self-sufficient for food, but we still have a long way to go! We love food, wine, cooking (and eating) and enjoy intelligent conversations. We are well travelled but now quite happy living in our little corner of Wales. We also run a local shop with wholefoods and local produce.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Help can be arranged flexibly around a mutually agreed schedule. You should be able and confident to do things on your own without much supervision. We are are quite new to smallholding life so we are specifically looking for people who already have relevant skills to share, as we have a lot to learn. There are always smaller & bigger jobs to be done, below are some examples of jobs that can change with the season:
    Animal care & farm maintenance
    Building maintenance & repairs (painting etc)
    Planting/weeding
    Haymaking
    Collecting / sawing / stacking fire wood
    Carpentry & wood working projects
    Ground works (securing/repairing paths, paving, building steps on slopes, etc)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Greek, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation in your own room in our (small) house (double bed, suitable for single person or a couple).
    Shared meals (breakfast & dinner - lunch is 'help yourself').
    Wifi available throughout the house.
    We have no television.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Mobile reception can be a bit patchy depending on your network.
    We are happy to pick up volunteers from the nearby mainline train station (Llandudno Junction).
    We are relatively new to Workaway but often had volunteers before.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We all have a lot to learn from other persons and new encounters. We enjoy good conversations about the small and big things of life, and the exchange of experiences and sharing of skills.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, more or less

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 258156218922