Learn how to use super-adobe, help build an eco-dome in NE Los Angeles, USA

Favourited 223 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register


  • Description


    We are a family living in the foothills of North East Los Angeles. We are artists, anarchists, and vegetarians and we have a teenager, a cat, and a pug. We are constructing a super adobe eco-dome. We are close to public transportation and have hiking trails within walking distance of our house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    We are now on the finishing stages of the build. We work WEEKENDS ONLY due to my work. YOU CAN ONLY STAY HERE ON WEEKENDS. I provide food on work days, ONLY Thursday night 6pm (1800) - Monday morning 9am (0900).

    We are finishing a super-adobe eco dome in our backyard. We need help and can easily train anyone to assist with the build. Super adobe is soil that is put into long sandbags and tamped down to create adobe. The structure is coiled and looks somewhat like a beehive. We doing the finish plaster outside as the structure is complete.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Arabic, some Spanish

  • Accommodation


    We have a living room with futon couch and/or air mattresses and one bedroom available. Kitchen is available to use (I provide breakfast and lunch for workers, you are on your own for dinner). You will have a bathroom to share. There is also a tent to use in the backyard if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to 2 bus lines which can take you to the Gold Line light rail. The light rail goes all over LA now including the beach.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are not the typical American family - we are anarchists and not huge consumers. I am a Muslim and my husband identifies as a Buddhist.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-8 hours a day We work only Friday, Sat, Sun.

My Photo Album

The hole is dug!! Ready to start building!

Host ref number: 227158974636