Help wanted at the nicest spot in New Zealand for a great Kiwi experience!

Favourited 1968 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    90  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/09/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Hi & welcome to NZ. We need help year round. We have a 50 acre farm in the middle of NZ's largest Scenic Reserve in the Bay of Plenty Province. The animals here are cattle, sheep, chickens & 50 sheep/cattle Dogs. Organically we keep everything chemical free & grow & preserve some of our own food. We offer food, your own private cottage, 15 minutes of internet every other day, a unique real kiwi experience in exchange for 4 hours work. For fun there is river kayaking (in summer with two), glow-worms, river swimming, guitar and are ten minutes from some of the best beaches in NZ. Mike is a born & bred kiwi & as true to the country Kiwi way of life you will find. Greta is from Finland. We have three young kids Heleena, Thomas & Eva. We are planet, environmental & animal friendly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    Help can be a variety of things helping with day to day general farm work, gardening, painting, mowing the lawn, picking up firewood from rivers edge, but mostly spending time with our three kids so they can learn about different people, cultures, languages, playing etc. We treat everyone as individuals & work within their personal abilities & try to give you new experiences. Its a great opportunity for a variety of different work & lifestyle experiences. Four hours help daily is whats required. Our farm is 10 minutes from the town of Opotiki where the buses stop. We will pick you up & drop you back from there. If you have a car thats great too. Hopefully we will see you soon. Greta & Mike, Heleena, Thomas & Eva.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Finnish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    SAFE & CLEAN: Your own private cottage formerly used by tourists. We provided all the basic food. If your here alone dinner is with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I get dogs from all over the NZ & need help when I do my Central North Island buying trip. I train them to work sheep & cattle & find them good homes on farms as cattle/sheep dogs. We sell sheep every weekend to local people. We don't eat massed produced cruel factory farmed meat or eggs or products produced by child labor. We are into living off the land for main sources of food, eating organically & ethically friendly. We are also very environmentally friendly in our living. thanks. Greta & Mike, Heleena, Thomas & Eva.

    *️️*️️PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT US IF, you smoke, drink or do drugs, you haven't filled out your profile, plan on hitch hiking to or from our farm, aren't in NZ or payed for a ticket to NZ, are not an energetic active person, have no energy or ability to interact & play with or teach young children some of your native language. Thank you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn how a kiwi farming family lives. learn about real life & how we have achieved what we have through hard work & being efficient.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    No more than 4 hours, 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Zina from Germany. has a NZ home here forever.
Julia 03/17. Came as a stranger, left as a much loved family member/friend whos influence will always be with us all, forever!
Annika from Austria reading to Heleena
Heleena riding her horse!
our daughter Heleena
view out the window
Julia & Laura picking up firewood
Greta with her dog Brodie
over looking the farm
jessica cooling off
just love that grass

Feedback




















































Host ref number: 17797921354a